< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL11 Match 37: Melbourne Renegades see off the Heat at the Simonds Stadium


After some quality bowling from the Renegades bowlers, Shaun Marsh half century sees them to a comfortable 5 wicket victory today at the Simonds Stadium, South Geelong, Victoria.

Match Summary

Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat, 37th Match, Big Bash League

Melbourne Renegades 129/5 (15 ov)

Brisbane Heat 128/6 (20 ov)

Result - Melbourne Renegades won by 5 wickets


Melbourne Renegades won the toss and elected to field, Heat's Jake Lehmann (65) rising to the challenge early on.

Unfortunately for Heat, the Renegades bowlers took over from there, Mohammad Nabi (2/19), Zahir Khan (2/21) and Kane Richardson (2/22) all contributing.

In response, Brisbane Heat struck early, David Grant (3/20) removing opener Sam Harper for 0.

Aaron Finch (37) levelled the field though, before being joined by Shaun Marsh (57) and putting them in a commanding position.

Nic Maddinson (22*) saw them over the line as Melbourne Renegades won by 5 wickets.

Shaun Marsh was Player of the Match.

Match Stats

Brisbane Heat Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Jack Clayton - 4.4 ov), 2-42 (Fakhar Zaman - 6.3 ov), 3-63 (Sam Heazlett - 10.5 ov), 4-80 (Tom Cooper - 13.4 ov), 5-98 (Lachlan Pfeffer - 15.5 ov), 6-124 (Jake Lehmann - 18.5 ov)

Melbourne Renegades Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Sam Harper - 0.3 ov), 2-96 (Shaun Marsh - 10.1 ov), 3-106 (Aaron Finch - 11.4 ov), 4-114 (Will Sutherland - 13.3 ov), 5-118 (Mackenzie Harvey - 14.3 ov)

Playing XIs

MELBOURNE RENEGADES - Sam Harper (WK), Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Nic Maddinson (C), Mackenzie Harvey, James Seymour, Will Sutherland, James Pattinson, Kane Richardson, Zak Evans, Zahir Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Jake Fraser-McGurk

BRISBANE HEAT - Lachlan Pfeffer (WK), Jake Lehmann, Jack Clayton, Fakhar Zaman, Sam Heazlett, Tom Cooper (C), Steven McGiffin, Will Prestwidge, Ronan McDonald, David Grant, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Bryce Street, Jack Wood

Match Details

Date - 6th January, 07:05 AM

Venue - Simonds Stadium, South Geelong, Victoria, Geelong

Toss - Melbourne Renegades won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Ben Treloar, Bruce Oxenford

© Cricket World 2022