< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Challenger: Neser proves the difference as Heat make Finals

Michael Neser in action for Brisbane Heat
Michael Neser in action for Brisbane Heat

Michael Neser makes a stand to see Brisbane Heat to a 4 wicket win over Sydney Sixers and into the BBL12 Final against Perth Scorchers.

Match Summary

Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat, Challenger, Big Bash League

Sydney Sixers 116/9 (20 ov)

Brisbane Heat 117/6 (18.2 ov)

Result - Brisbane Heat won by 4 wickets


Sydney Sixers are still yet to lose a home match this season, so it would be an uphill battle for Brisbane Heat from the start.

It wasn't the usual performance from Sixers though, Daniel Hughes (23) top scoring as wickets tumbled around him.

Spencer Johnson (3/28) took control in the later stages, catching and bowling his way through the middle order as Sixers headed in on a dismal 116.

It ended a much closer affair than expected though, despite a quick start for Brisbane Heat via Josh Brown (20) things turned in favour of Sixers.

Izharulhaq Naveed (2/28) took some crucial wickets as the middle order faultered for Heat, momentum swining back and forth.

It was Michael Neser who stepped up knocking 7 Fours on his way to 48*, enough to see Brisbane Heat to a 4 wicket win and into the BBL Finals.

Match Stats

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Kurtis Patterson - 3.1 ov), 2-43 (Josh Philippe - 6.1 ov), 3-53 (Moises Henriques - 8.2 ov), 4-70 (Jordan Silk - 11.6 ov), 5-76 (Daniel Hughes - 12.5 ov), 6-91 (Daniel Christian - 16.3 ov), 7-98 (Ben Dwarshuis - 17.6 ov), 8-108 (Hayden Kerr - 18.6 ov), 9-110 (Sean Abbott - 19.2 ov)

Brisbane Heat Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Sam Heazlett - 3.3 ov), 2-39 (Josh Brown - 5.5 ov), 3-41 (Nathan McSweeney - 6.5 ov), 4-54 (Jimmy Peirson - 9.4 ov), 5-56 (Sam Hain - 10.1 ov), 6-86 (Max Bryant - 14.4 ov)

Playing XI

Sydney Sixers: Josh Philippe(WK), Moises Henriques(C), Kurtis Patterson, Jordan Silk, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Daniel Christian, Sean Abbott, Steve O'Keefe, Ben Dwarshuis, Izharulhaq Naveed

Brisbane Heat: Jimmy Peirson(WK/C), Sam Hain, Josh Brown, Max Bryant, Sam Heazlett, Nathan McSweeney, Michael Neser, James Bazley, Matthew Kuhnemann, Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson

Match Details

Date: Thursday, February 2, 2023 08:15

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney, Sydney

Toss: Sydney Sixers won the toss & elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Donovan Koch(Australia) Sam Nogajski(Australia)Paul Wilson(Australia TV)

Match Referee: Bob Parry(Australia)

© Cricket World 2023