< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Final: Perth Scorchers beat Brisbane Heat by 5 wickets in thrilling clash at the Optus Stadium

Perth Scorchers' Ashton Turner celebrates his half century
Perth Scorchers' Ashton Turner celebrates his half century

A record 53,000+ cricket fans, at the Optus Stadium, Perth, watched the Scorchers win their 5th BBL Trophy, beating Brisbane Heat by 5 wickets today.


Match Summary

Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat, Final, Big Bash League

Perth Scorchers 177/5 (19.3 ov)

Brisbane Heat 175/7 (20 ov)

Result - Perth Scorchers won by 5 wickets


Brisbane Heat won the toss and elected to bat, and they got off to flier before Josh Brown (25) was out in the 2nd over with score 25/1, he had scored all the Heat’s runs to that point!

Sam Heazlett (34) and Nathan McSweeney (41) then put on 84 for the next wicket in just over 10 overs.

The Scorchers bowlers were not at the top of their game and the Heat batters continued to pile on the runs and pressure, eventually totalling 175/7 in their 20 overs, Max Bryant 31 (14) hitting a cameo knock towards the end, which included 3x6s. Jason Behrendorff 2-26 was the pick of the Scorchers bowlers.

In the run chase, it was always going to be a challenge scoring at nearly 9 runs an over to win, especially in a Final, and at 54/3 the Perth Scorchers were in some trouble - 1-32 (Stephen Eskinazi - 4.2 ov), 2-48 (Cameron Bancroft - 6.6 ov) and 3-54 (Aaron Hardie - 7.5 ov) all out cheaply.

However, Ashton Turner and Josh Inglis turned the tide for the home side with a partnership of 51 from 35 balls and then pushed on into the power surge, taking 13 off the first over and 11 runs off the 2nd over, leaving 46 runs to get from 4 overs.

Still a tough ask, Josh Inglis was caught out and then Ashton Turner run out, in Xavier Bartlett's next over and the match swung back in Heat's favour.

The two young guns, Cooper Connolly and Nick Hobson then took up the challenge, taking the Scorchers to the last over requiring 10 to win and amazingly took them home with 3 balls to spare.

Perth Scorchers became the most successful franchise in BBL history, winning their 5th Trophy.

Player of the Match -  Ashton Turner

Match Stats

Brisbane Heat Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Josh Brown - 1.6 ov), 2-104 (Sam Heazlett - 12.1 ov), 3-108 (Jimmy Peirson - 12.5 ov), 4-117 (Nathan McSweeney - 14.4 ov), 5-159 (Max Bryant - 18.3 ov), 6-159 (Michael Neser - 18.4 ov), 7-169 (James Bazley - 19.5 ov)

Perth Scorchers Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Stephen Eskinazi - 4.2 ov), 2-48 (Cameron Bancroft - 6.6 ov), 3-54 (Aaron Hardie - 7.5 ov), 4-134 (Josh Inglis - 16.3 ov), 5-137 (Ashton Turner - 16.5 ov)


Playing XIs

Perth Scorchers: Cameron Bancroft, Stephen Eskinazi, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis(WK), Ashton Turner(C), Nick Hobson, Cooper Connolly, Matthew Kelly, Andrew Tye, David Payne, Jason Behrendorff

Brisbane Heat: Sam Heazlett, Josh Brown, Nathan McSweeney, Sam Hain, Jimmy Peirson(WK/C), Max Bryant, Michael Neser, James Bazley, Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Kuhnemann

Match Details:

Date: Saturday, February 4, 2023 08:30

Venue: Perth Stadium, Perth

TossBrisbane Heat won the toss & elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Paul Wilson (Australia) Sam Nogajski (Australia) Gerard Abood (Australia TV)

Match Referee: Dave Gilbert (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023