< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Knockout: Melbourne Renegades lose out to Brisbane Heat by 7 wickets

Brisbane Heat came away from the Docklands Stadium, Melbourne today, one win away from a BBL Final against Perth Scorchers next weekend, by beating Melbourne Renegades by 7 wickets.

Match Summary

Melbourne Renegades 162/5 (20 ov)

Brisbane Heat 164/3 (18.5 ov) Brisbane

Heat won by 7 wickets



Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to field and the Renegades hit 162/5 in their 20 overs, thanks to a great knock by Shaun Marsh. Despite losing wickets at crucial moments, Marsh held the innings together with a stunning 82 off 53 balls. Sam Harper and Matt Critchley also contributed with supportive scores, and Jonathan Wells finished off the innings with a quick 12 off 4 balls to secure a defendable  total 162/5

The Brisbane Heat bowlers performed well, limiting the Renegades to a below-average total. Xavier Bartlett stood out, taking three important wickets including those of Guptill, Harper, and Critchley. Nesser also contributed with 2/33. James Bazley struggled, giving up 35 runs in his three overs.

In the run chase, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuchagne and Matt Renshaw combined to get the Heat over the line by 7 wickets.

 Match Stats

Melbourne Renegades Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Martin Guptill - 1.4 ov), 2-66 (Sam Harper - 8.2 ov), 3-81 (Aaron Finch - 11.2 ov), 4-121 (Matt Critchley - 15.3 ov), 5-150 (Will Sutherland - 19.2 ov)

Brisbane Heat Fall of wickets1-75 (Josh Brown - 8.5 ov), 2-122 (Usman Khawaja - 15.3 ov), 3-129 (Marnus Labuschagne - 15.6 ov)

Playing XIs

Melbourne RenegadesSam Harper(WK), Aaron Finch(C), Shaun Marsh, Martin Guptill, Jonathan Wells, Will Sutherland, Matt Critchley, Thomas Stewart Rogers, Fawad Ahmed, David Moody, Corey Rocchiccioli

Brisbane Heat: Jimmy Peirson(WK), Usman Khawaja(C), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Brown, Sam Hain, Michael Neser, James Bazley, Matt Renshaw, Matthew Kuhnemann, Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson


Match Details:

Date: Sunday, January 29, 2023 08:15

Venue: Docklands Stadium, Melbourne, Melbourne, Melbourne

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (Australia) Phillip Gillespie (Australia) Gerard Abood (Australia TV)

Match Referee: David Johnston (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023