< >
Cricket Betting us

BBL12 Match 25: Brisbane Heat too hot for Sydney Sixers in stunning 15 run win

Brisbane Heat's Josh Brown
Brisbane Heat's Josh Brown

Heat ‘Rookies’ Josh Brown (62 off 23 balls inc 4x4s and 6x6s) and Nathan McSweeney (84 off 51 balls inc 8x4s and 3x6s) helped Brisbane Heat to their biggest total in BBL history and it proved too much for the Sixers to chase, as the Heat won by 15 runs, at the GABBA today.

Match Summary

Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Sixers, 25th Match, Big Bash League

Brisbane Heat 224/5 (20 ov)

Sydney Sixers 209/10 (20 ov)

Result - Brisbane Heat won by 15 runs



Match Highlights

Brisbane Heat won the toss and elected to bat against Sydney Sixers , at the Gabba, Brisbane today in Match 25 of the BBL12.

After losing Colin Munro early, Josh Brown (62 off 23 balls inc 4x4s and 6x6s) and Nathan McSweeney (84 off 51 balls inc 8x4s and 3x6s) took the Heat, in stunning fashion, to their biggest total in BBL history – 224/5.

In the run chase, the Sixers were in it until around the 11th over – James Vince 41 and Josh Philippe 27 got them off to great start, however, they were always under pressure with the run rate and at 114/5, after 11 overs, the game was all but lost for the visitors….and Brisbane Heat eventually won by 15 runs.

Player of the Match – Josh Brown (62 off 23 balls inc 4x4s and 6x6s) 

Magic Moment - 18.2 Overs Jordan Silk c Michael Neser b Mark Steketee 41 (23) Mark Steketee to JC Silk, no run, Caught out!! full length, outside off, Jordan Silk plays lofted off the front-foot to the long off where Michael Neser completes catch. Gone. fielded by Michael Neser. Scooped the ball into the air – went over the boundary, caught and threw ball back into the air, before getting back in and completing a stunner of a catch.



Match Stats

Brisbane Heat Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Colin Munro - 0.6 ov), 2-85 (Josh Brown - 6.3 ov), 3-147 (Sam Billings - 13.4 ov), 4-208 (Jimmy Peirson - 18.2 ov), 5-218 (Nathan McSweeney - 19.4 ov)

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Josh Philippe - 4.3 ov), 2-83 (Daniel Hughes - 6.6 ov), 3-96 (James Vince - 8.4 ov), 4-100 (Moises Henriques - 9.2 ov), 5-113 (Daniel Christian - 10.5 ov), 6-167 (Hayden Kerr - 15.1 ov), 7-173 (Ben Dwarshuis - 16.1 ov), 8-199 (Jordan Silk - 18.2 ov), 9-207 (Sean Abbott - 19.2 ov), 10-209 (Izharulhaq Naveed - 19.6 ov)


Playing XIs

Brisbane Heat: Colin Munro, Josh Brown, Nathan McSweeney, Sam Billings, Jimmy Peirson (WK/C), Ross Whiteley, Michael Neser, James Bazley, Mark Steketee, Matthew Kuhnemann, Mitchell Swepson

Sydney Sixers: Josh Philippe (WK), James Vince, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques (C), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Jackson Bird, Izharulhaq Naveed

Match Details:

Date: Sunday, January 1, 2023 08:15

Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss & elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Donovan Koch(Australia) Nathan Johnstone(Australia) Troy Penman(Australia TV)

Match Referee: Kepler Wessels(Australia)

© Cricket World 2022