< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Match 43: Sixers just too good for the Scorchers at the SCG

Dan Christian rolled back the years for the Sixers, taking 2 wickets in his death over, to give them a slim 6 run win over Perth Scorchers at the SCG today.

Match Summary

Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers, 43rd Match, Big Bash League

Sydney Sixers 151/5 (20 ov)

Perth Scorchers 145/7 (20 ov)

Result - Sydney Sixers won by 6 runs


Match Analysis

Put in to bat first, the Sixers would have been reasonably happy with a total of 151 on the slow Sydney pitch. They had a strong start, with Steve Smith in a 52-run partnership with Philippe. However, Hatzoglou disrupted their momentum by dismissing Smith and Patterson in quick succession.

Philippe fought hard to reach a well-earned half century as the Scorchers' pace bowlers were successful in executing their yorkers and slower deliveries, making it difficult for Sixers' batters to score.

The Scorchers had successfully defended a similar score against the Sixers in Perth, but could the home team to do the same here?

In the run chase, Perth Scorchers fell just six runs short, Stephen Eskinazi 66* at the end - Dan Christian 2-7 and Sean Abbott 3-18 were the stars with the ball for the Sixers.

Player of the Match - Sean Abbott 3-18

Match Stats

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets1-52 (Steven Smith - 7.4 ov), 2-89 (Kurtis Patterson - 11.4 ov), 3-111 (Moises Henriques - 14.2 ov), 4-134 (Josh Philippe - 17.6 ov), 5-141 (Daniel Christian - 19.1 ov)

Perth Scorchers Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Cameron Bancroft - 1.4 ov), 2-14 (Aaron Hardie - 3.3 ov), 3-35 (Josh Inglis - 6.2 ov), 4-80 (Ashton Turner - 11.4 ov), 5-117 (Nick Hobson - 16.3 ov), 6-129 (Ashton Agar - 18.1 ov), 7-135 (Andrew Tye - 18.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Sydney Sixers:  Josh Philippe (WK),Steven Smith, Kurtis Patterson, Moises Henriques (C), Jordan Silk, Daniel Christian, Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Lyon, Steve O'Keefe

Perth Scorchers: Stephen Eskinazi, Cameron Bancroft, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis (WK), Ashton Turner (C), Nick Hobson, Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, David Payne, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Hatzoglou


Match Details:

Date: Sunday, January 15, 2023 08:15

VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Toss: Perth Scorchers won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Ben Treloar (Australia) Paul Wilson (Australia) Troy Penman (Australia TV)

Match Referee: Steve Bernard (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023