< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Match 44: Matt Renshaw proves the difference in final ball thriller

Matt Renshaw in action for Brisbane Heat
Matt Renshaw in action for Brisbane Heat

Matt Renshaw smashed a four on the final ball to guide Brisbane Heat to a close fought 3 wicket win over Melbourne Stars today.

Match Summary

Melbourne Stars vs Brisbane Heat, 44th Match, Big Bash League

Melbourne Stars 159/7 (20 ov)

Brisbane Heat 160/7 (20 ov)

Result - Brisbane Heat won by 3 wickets


Brisbane Heat won the toss and elected to bowl, getting off to a flying start via Michael Neser (4/25).

Thomas Fraser Rogers (26) and Beau Webster (36) added some important runs to get Heat moving, before Nick Larkin (58) notched a quickfire half century.

Despite a disappointing start Heat managed to pull together and reach 159 before heading in, a defendable score for sure.

Liam Hatcher (2/29) did give Stars the edge with some early wickets before Matt Renshaw (90*) entered the fray.

He smashed a huge half century, including 6 Fours and 4 Sixes, to guide Heat to a 3 wicket win in a final ball thriller.


Match Stats

Brisbane Heat Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Josh Brown - 1.2 ov), 2-27 (Usman Khawaja - 3.1 ov), 3-42 (Marnus Labuschagne - 5.1 ov), 4-59 (Sam Hain - 8.1 ov), 5-125 (Jimmy Peirson - 15.2 ov), 6-136 (James Bazley - 16.5 ov), 7-148 (Michael Neser - 18.2 ov)

Melbourne Stars Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Joe Clarke - 2.3 ov), 2-29 (Hilton Cartwright - 4.3 ov), 3-62 (Thomas Fraser Rogers - 9.1 ov), 4-110 (Beau Webster - 15.1 ov), 5-110 (Nathan Coulter-Nile - 15.2 ov), 6-127 (James Seymour - 16.5 ov), 7-159 (Nick Larkin - 19.6 ov)

Playing XI

Melbourne Stars: Joe Clarke (WK), Thomas Fraser Rogers, Hilton Cartwright, James Seymour, Beau Webster, Nick Larkin, Clint Hinchliffe, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Luke Wood, Liam Hatcher, Adam Zampa (C)

Brisbane Heat: Usman Khawaja (C), Josh Brown, Marnus Labuschagne, Matt Renshaw, Sam Hain, Jimmy Peirson (WK), James Bazley, Michael Neser, Spencer Johnson, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann

Match Details

Date: Monday, January 16, 2023 08:15

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Donovan Koch (Australia) Gerard Abood (Australia) Stephen Dionysius (Australia TV)

Match Referee: Kent Hannam (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023