< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Match 53: Sixers bowlers see them to 24 run win

BBL12 Match 53: Sixers bowlers see them to 24 run win
BBL12 Match 53: Sixers bowlers see them to 24 run win

After an important half century from Steve Smith, it was over to the Sixers bowling line-up to defend the total comfortably, as they defeated Hobart Hurricanes by 24 runs today.

Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers, 53rd Match, Big Bash League

Hobart Hurricanes 156/8 (20 ov)

Sydney Sixers 180/7 (20 ov)

Result - Sydney Sixers won by 24 runs.


Hobart Hurricane won the toss and elected to field, Sydney Sixers not getting off to the strongest of starts as Faheem Ashraf took an early wicket.

Steven Smith (66) joined the fray and added a much needed half century to see momentum swing back in Sixers favour.

The innings swung back and forth, as Paddy Dooley (3/43) took some crucial wickets, Ben Dwarshuis (30) chipping in some runs along the way.

Sixers made it in at 180, a strong enough score to defend comfortably, it would take something special from the Hurricanes batsmen.

It was a slow start as Jackson Bird (2/42) took some wickets to keep things in control for Sixers, before Zak Crawley (49) added a knock to make it a contest.

Unfortunately, it continued to be a story of bowlers as Sean Abbott (3/26) and Hayden Kerr (2/34) dominated the innings.

Hobart Hurricanes did what they could, but the bowling onslaught was too much, as they fell short by 24 runs.

Match Stats

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets: 1-55 (Josh Philippe - 5.4 ov), 2-87 (Steven Smith - 8.6 ov), 3-91 (Hayden Kerr - 10.1 ov), 4-106 (Daniel Christian - 12.6 ov), 5-112 (Kurtis Patterson - 13.4 ov), 6-121 (Jordan Silk - 14.5 ov), 7-155 (Ben Dwarshuis - 17.5 ov)

Hobart Hurricanes Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Ben McDermott - 2.2 ov), 2-26 (Caleb Jewell - 3.3 ov), 3-52 (Matthew Wade - 7.1 ov), 4-87 (Tim David - 11.1 ov), 5-123 (D'Arcy Short - 15.2 ov), 6-131 (Zak Crawley - 16.6 ov), 7-133 (Faheem Ashraf - 17.6 ov), 8-141 (Joel Paris - 18.5 ov)

Playing XI

Hobart Hurricanes: Ben McDermott, Caleb Jewell, Zak Crawley, Tim David, Matthew Wade(WK/C), D'Arcy Short, Faheem Ashraf, Joel Paris, Nathan Ellis, Paddy Dooley, Riley Meredith

Sydney Sixers: Josh Philippe(WK), Moises Henriques(C), Kurtis Patterson, Steven Smith, Jordan Silk, Sean Abbott, Daniel Christian, Hayden Kerr, Izharulhaq Naveed, Ben Dwarshuis, Jackson Bird

Match Details

DateMonday, January 23, 2023 08:15

Venue: Bellerive Oval, Hobart, Hobart

Toss: Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and elected to field

Officials Umpires: Sam Nogajski (Australia)Simon Lightbody (Australia) David Taylor (Australia TV)

Match Referee: Steve Davis (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023