< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Match 54: Aaron Finch leads Renegades in chase

BBL12 Match 54: Aaron Finch leads Renegades in chase
BBL12 Match 54: Aaron Finch leads Renegades in chase

After some quality bowling from Fawad Ahmed, Aaron Finch took over with the bat as Melbourne Renegades coasted to a 6 wicket win over Adelaide Strikers.

Match Summary

Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide Strikers, 54th Match, Big Bash League

Melbourne Renegades 143/4 (18.2 ov)

Adelaide Strikers 142/7 (20 ov)

Result - Melbourne Renegades won by 6 wickets


Considering their start, Adelaide Strikers had done exceptionally well to reach 142 after a slow start, Alex Carey playing a crucial role.

Carey smashed 9 Fours on his way to 65, top scoring for the side, as Fawad Ahmed (3/17) mopped up his partners.

It could have easily been a smaller total for Strikers, Carey's contribution proving immeasurable, as they still had a chance in this one.

It was always going to be a challenge to defend the total, however Renegades middle order was just too much.

Aaron Finch (63*) added a crucial half century after a shaky start, supported by Matt Critchley (35) they moved to a 6 wicket win.

Match Stats

Adelaide Strikers Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Matthew Short - 0.3 ov), 2-39 (Travis Head - 8.3 ov), 3-74 (Adam Hose - 11.5 ov), 4-88 (Colin de Grandhomme - 12.6 ov), 5-116 (Ryan Gibson - 16.4 ov), 6-116 (Alex Carey - 17.1 ov), 7-118 (Cameron Boyce - 17.5 ov)

Melbourne Renegades Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Martin Guptill - 0.3 ov), 2-14 (Shaun Marsh - 1.1 ov), 3-16 (Sam Harper - 2.1 ov), 4-85 (Matt Critchley - 11.6 ov)

Playing XI

Melbourne Renegades: Shaun Marsh, Martin Guptill, Sam Harper(WK), Aaron Finch(C), Jonathan Wells, Will Sutherland, Thomas Stewart Rogers, Corey Rocchiccioli, Kane Richardson, Matt Critchley, Fawad Ahmed

Adelaide Strikers: Matthew Short, Travis Head(C), Alex Carey(WK), Adam Hose, Colin de Grandhomme, Ryan Gibson, Harry Nielsen, Cameron Boyce, Wes Agar, Harry Conway, Peter Siddle

Match Details

Date: Tuesday, January 24, 2023 08:00

Venue: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore, Indore

Toss: Melbourne Renegades won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Ben Treloar (Australia) Phillip Gillespie (Australia) Greg Davidson (Australia TV)

Match Referee Kent Hannam (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023