< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Match 55: Hurricanes overcome the Heat by just 2 runs in low-scoring thriller

Michael Neser
Michael Neser 4/35 (4.0) - not quite enough for the Heat to win

In a low scoring thriller, Hobart Hurricanes beat Brisbane Heat by just 2 runs, at the Aurora Stadium, Launceston. In Match 55 BBL12.


Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat, 55th Match, Big Bash League

Hobart Hurricanes 120/9 (20 ov)

Brisbane Heat 118/8 (20 ov)

Result - Hobart Hurricanes won by 2 runs


Match View

The Heat's bowlers put them in a favorable position by restricting the Hurricanes to a low target for their batters to chase to win, and the Hurricanes did just that, to keep their playoff aspirations alive.

Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to field. Michael Neser taking 4 wickets, including 2 in the last over. The Heat bowling attack did well today with every bowler taking at least one wicket. Johnson took 2 wickets, Bazley, Kuhnemann, and Swepson each took one. Labuschagne made two difficult catches like a superhero, while Renshaw and Kuhnemann each took 2 catches as well.

Ben McDermott stood out as the notable batter for the Hurricanes, leading the innings with a half-century. Despite the fast-paced nature of his run-a-ball innings, it helped his team reach a respectable total. Jewell began the innings well but was unable to maintain the strong start he had.

In the run chase, the Hurricanes' bowlers were awesome resticting the Heat batters to just 118/8, to win by 2 runs.

Match Stats

Hobart Hurricanes Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Caleb Jewell - 2.4 ov), 2-27 (Zak Crawley - 4.3 ov), 3-36 (Ben McDermott - 7.6 ov), 4-53 (Tim David - 10.6 ov), 5-93 (Matthew Wade - 16.2 ov), 6-106 (Macalister Wright - 17.4 ov), 7-111 (Joel Paris - 18.3 ov), 8-114 (Nathan Ellis - 19.1 ov), 9-120 (Wil Parker - 19.6 ov)

Brisbane Heat Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Usman Khawaja - 2.1 ov), 2-23 (Marnus Labuschagne - 3.5 ov), 3-30 (Josh Brown - 5.1 ov), 4-30 (Matt Renshaw - 5.2 ov), 5-103 (Sam Hain - 16.2 ov), 6-105 (Jimmy Peirson - 17.2 ov), 7-111 (Michael Neser - 18.2 ov), 8-111 (Matthew Kuhnemann - 19.3 ov)

Playing XIs

Hobart Hurricanes: Ben McDermott, Matthew Wade(WK/C), Zak Crawley, Tim David, Caleb Jewell, Macalister Wright, Faheem Ashraf, Riley Meredith, Nathan Ellis, Joel Paris, Wil Parker

Brisbane Heat: Jimmy Peirson(WK), Usman Khawaja(C), Sam Hain, Josh Brown, Michael Neser, Marnus Labuschagne, Matt Renshaw, James Bazley, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Spencer Johnson

Match Details:

Date: Wednesday, January 25, 2023 02:40

Venue:  Aurora Stadium, Launceston, Launceston, Launceston

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss & elected to field

Officials: Umpires: Donovan Koch (Australia) Sam Nogajski (Australia) Paul Wilson (Australia TV)

Match Referee: Steve Davis (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023