< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Match 56: Thunder bowlers set-up 3 wicket win

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder, 56th Match
Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder, 56th Match

Sydney Thunder restricted Melbourne Stars to 119, however it turned into a much closer affair than they would have liked, narrowly squeaking a 3 wicket win.

Match Summary

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder, 56th Match, Big Bash League

Melbourne Stars 119/7 (20 ov)

Sydney Thunder 120/7 (18.5 ov)

Result - Sydney Thunder won by 3 wickets


Sydney Thunder utilized their bowlers to limit Stars scoring opportunities, Thomas Rogers (35) and Hilton Cartwright (36) the only ones to perform with the bat.

High expectations were placed on Australia's Marcus Stoinis, however, he was unable to perform up to par. Stoinis has had an inconsistent journey in the Big Bash League this season due to injuries, resulting in him missing a significant amount of the tournament. The absence of the Stars' key player, Glenn Maxwell, has greatly impacted their chances and the team is weaker without him.

Usman Qadir (3/24) was the star of this innings, as Melbourne Stars left the field on 119, setting Thunder up for a comfortable win.

In the run chase, it wasn't as simple as Thunder maybe thought, Adam Zampa (3/25) a constant thorn in their side.

There was moments from Daniel Sams (28) before they were shut down by Zampa again, Thunder struggling for what looked an easy total to knock off.

Nathan McAndrew (12*) saw off the total as it turned into a much closer affair than it should have, Sydney Thunder winning by 3 wickets.

Match Stats

Melbourne Stars Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Joe Clarke - 0.4 ov), 2-23 (Campbell Kellaway - 3.5 ov), 3-35 (Marcus Stoinis - 5.6 ov), 4-84 (Tom Rogers - 13.2 ov), 5-112 (Beau Webster - 17.6 ov), 6-112 (Hilton Cartwright - 18.1 ov), 7-112 (Nathan Coulter-Nile - 18.4 ov)

Sydney Thunder Fall of wickets: 1-4 (David Warner - 1.3 ov), 2-31 (Jason Sangha - 5.6 ov), 3-41 (Matthew Gilkes - 8.6 ov), 4-49 (Oliver Davies - 9.6 ov), 5-60 (Alex Ross - 11.5 ov), 6-80 (Ben Cutting - 14.4 ov), 7-104 (Daniel Sams - 16.4 ov)

Playing XI

Melbourne Stars: Joe Clarke(WK), Tom Rogers, Campbell Kellaway, Marcus Stoinis, Hilton Cartwright, Beau Webster, Nick Larkin, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Luke Wood, Liam Hatcher, Adam Zampa(C)

Sydney Thunder: Matthew Gilkes(WK), David Warner, Jason Sangha, Oliver Davies, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Ben Cutting, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green(C), Gurinder Sandhu, Usman Qadir

Match Details

Date: Wednesday, January 25, 2023 08:15

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, Melbourne

Toss: Sydney Thunder won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (Australia) Nathan Johnstone (Australia) Simon Lightbody (AustraliaTV)

Match Referee: Bob Stratford (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023