< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL12 Qualifier: Perth Scorchers beat Sydney Sixers by 7 wickets

Ashton Turner (84)
Ashton Turner (84)

 A brilliant batting display from Ashton Turner and Cameron Bancroft took Scorchers through to the BBL12 Final, beating the Sydney Sixers by 7 wickets today, at the Perth Stadium, Perth.

Match Summary

Perth Scorchers 154/3 (18.3 ov)

Sydney Sixers 151/8 (20 ov)

Perth Scorchers won by 7 wickets


Sydney Sixers won the toss and decided to bat and did well to reach a total 151/8 in their 20 overs after being 42/3 at one stage, after 8.1 overs. Henriques 58 and Silk 47* were the stars with the bat for the Sixers, whose 88 run, 4th wicket, partnership provided the necessary momentum during the middle overs to get them back on track.

Moises Henriques, was dropped at 11 runs by Tye, and went on to score a half-century and Jordan Silk remained not out, scoring an unbeaten 47 runs. The pair's 88-run partnership was well-constructed, as they scored 45 runs in 5 overs after the drinks break, then took the power surge.

They scored 31 runs during a surge, but lost two wickets in the last two balls, Payne taking the key wicket of Henriques. As a result, the run rate dropped and the Sixers ultimately reached a total of 151.

In the run chase, the Scorchers were reeling at 22/3 with Stephen Eskinazi, Aaron Hardie and Josh Inglis all out.

Turner and Bancroft rescued the Perth Scorchers from a difficult position of 22/3 at the end of 4 overs, with a 132-run partnership that ultimately led to their team's victory. Bancroft hit the winning boundary to reach his half-century and seal the win for the Scorchers.

The Sydney Sixers dominated the game early on, with Abbott's attack resulting in 3 wickets in the first two overs. However, the rest of the game belonged to Turner and Bancroft, whose well-paced partnership and masterful chase led to the Perth Scorchers victory.

Match Stats

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Josh Philippe - 0.4 ov), 2-15 (Kurtis Patterson - 2.4 ov), 3-42 (Steven Smith - 8.1 ov), 4-130 (Moises Henriques - 16.5 ov), 5-130 (Hayden Kerr - 16.6 ov), 6-133 (Daniel Christian - 17.6 ov), 7-133 (Ben Dwarshuis - 18.1 ov), 8-149 (Sean Abbott - 19.5 ov)

Perth Scorchers Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Stephen Eskinazi - 1.2 ov), 2-22 (Aaron Hardie - 3.4 ov), 3-22 (Josh Inglis - 3.6 ov)

Playing XIs

Perth Scorchers: Josh Inglis(WK). Ashton Turner(C). Cameron Bancroft, Stephen Eskinazi, Nick Hobson, Aaron Hardie, Cooper Connolly, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, David Payne, Lance Morris

Sydney Sixers: Josh Philippe(WK), Steven Smith, Moises Henriques(C), Kurtis Patterson, Jordan Silk, Hayden Kerr, Daniel Christian, Sean Abbott, Steve O'Keefe, Ben Dwarshuis, Izharulhaq Naveed

Match Details:

Date: Saturday, January 28, 2023 08:15

Venue:  Sydney Sixers won the toss & elected to bat

Toss: Perth Stadium, Perth

Officials Umpires: Donovan Koch (Australia) Paul Wilson (Australia) Sam Nogajski (Australia TV)

Match Referee: Kent Hannam (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023