< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BCCI announces dates for India-Australia Test series

Australia currently hold the Border-Gavaskar trophy
Australia currently hold the Border-Gavaskar trophy
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Friday announced the dates for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to be played between India and Australia early next year.

The first Test against begins on the very next day, Australia's Twenty20 International series against Sri Lanka at home concludes which means a number of senior players will be missing the T20 clash againt Angelo Mathews' men.

The four-match Test series will kick-off on 23rd February in Pune and the second Test will be hosted in Bangalore on 4th March. The third and fourth games will be played in Ranchi and Dharamsala on 16th and 25th March respectively.

Among these venues, except for the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, the other three grounds will be hosting a Test match for the first time.

Australia currently hold the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after defeating India 2-0 in the recent series between them down under.

However, their performance in sub-continent have left them lot to be desired as seen in their tour of Sri Lanka this year where they were whitewashed 0-3 which costed them their number one position in International Cricket Council rankings.

The last time, Australia toured India was in February 2013 and they were handed a 0-4 whitewash in the four-match series. In fact, Australia's last win in India came way back in 2004 when Adam Gilchrist led the team to a 2-1 series victory.

To help the team accustomed to the conditions, the National Cricket Centre in Brisbane has spin friendly pitches installed.

Prior, to the Test series against Australia, India will play a five-match Test series against England followed by three One-Day Internationals and as many T20Is.

Schedule for Australia tour of India

First Test: 23rd - 27th February, Pune
Second Test: 4th - 8th March, Bangalore
Third Test: 16th - 20th March, Ranchi
Fourth Test: 25th - 29th March, Dharamsala

© Cricket World 2016