< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Beausejour Cricket Ground renamed to honour Darren Sammy

Beausejour Cricket Ground renamed to honour Darren Sammy
Darren Sammy is the only captain in history to have won two ICC World T20 tournaments.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Prime Minister of St Lucia, Kenny Anthony has made an announcement that the Beausejour Cricket Ground will be renamed as Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium after the 32-year-old led West Indies to a second ICC World Twenty20 title.

West Indies won the 2016 World T20 after beating England by four wickets, following an unbeaten knock from Marlon Samuels and a blazing cameo from Carlos Brathwaite, who smashed four sixes to seal the win.

The Prime Minister also made an announcement that one of the stands in the stadium will be renamed to honour opening batsman Johnson Charles, who will also receive a plot of land in St Lucia.

In a press release, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) congratulated both Sammy and Charles and also stated that the honour bestowed upon the players was thoroughly deserved.

“Both are fitting tributes to the hard work and dedication of the players who just completed an exciting victory to win the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 Men’s title,” said the WICB release.

“The honour is fitting and we salute the players.”

Sammy is also the only captain in the history of the format to have led his team to two World T20 titles, having previously led West Indies to a win in the 2012 edition held in Sri Lanka.

© Cricket World 2016