Big Bash League 2016-17 ends on a high after terrific response

Adam Voges led Perth Scorchers to yet another title
Adam Voges led Perth Scorchers to yet another title

The 2016-17 edition of Big Bash League came to a conclusion on Saturday after Perth Scorchers went on to register their third title in four seasons after they defeated Sydney Sixers by nine wickets at WACA.

Surpasses one million attendees for second year in row:

The tournament success this year had prompted the organisers to add eight more additional games next season. The average attendance for the games this season was approximately 30,000 per game and overall the tournament was attended by 1,053,997 fans making it the second time in a row, crossing one million attendees.

Perth Scorchers - The most successful franchise

Hard to look beyond Scorchers when it comes to the Big Bash League tournament. Their win this season has made them the most consistent team in the history of BBL, having won it three times in the last four years. First, they secure a home final with a convincing win in their final league game that led them to top the table and then Mitchell Johnson unleashed himself at WACA in the semi-final against Melbourne Stars where he bowled the spell of the tournament picking three wickets and conceding just three runs.

Again in the final it was their bowling performance which allowed them to set up the win following which Michael Klinger remained unbeaten on 71 as Adam Voges' men sealed yet another title win.

Disappointment of the tournament - Sydney Thunder:

Came into the tournament as the defending champions but they never lived up to their expectations and finished bottom of the table. They lost Michael Hussey and Jacques Kallis from the previous season which did hamper their balance but the likes of Shane Watson and Andre Russell hardly fired putting them in further trouble.

After losing the first four games in a row, they were put in a do-or-die situation and they brought their campaign on track with three consecutive wins, only for them to exit the tournament with a defeat to Adelaide Strikers in the final league game. Overall, they ended the season with five defeats in the eight matches.

Game of the tournament - Second Semi-final - Sydney Sixers v Brisbane Heat:

Even though, Eoin Morgan signed off with a last ball six for the Sydney Thunder to take them to a thrilling last ball victory, the semi-final encounter between Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat went all the way down to the wire making it the first and only Super Over game of the tournament.

In the one-over eliminator, Moises Henriques, who earlier scored a brilliant half-century, amassed 20 runs apart from the two byes to take them to 22 runs but Brendon McCullum in response could not quite take his team through despite scoring 15 runs in it.

Leading run-scorer of the tournament: Ben Dunk:

Dunk's form could be one of the rare positive for Adelaide Strikers this season. He scored 364 runs despite playing just eight games along with an average of 52 and strike-rate of over 160. He also scored three half-centuries with a highest score of 85 runs but his team could not quite qualify for the knock-out with a struggling middle-order.

Leading wicket-taker of the tournament: Sean Abbott:

Earlier, he set the tournament on fire with a brilliant five-wicket haul and has been one of the consistent performer throughout the tournament. He picked 20 wickets from 10 matches including four wickets in the final at an average of just 16. He had five more wickets than the second placed Mark Steketee.

© Cricket World 2017