< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Bishoo completes nine wicket haul as West Indies take 1-0 unassailable lead

Devendra Bishoo (left) was the player of the game
Devendra Bishoo (left) was the player of the game

West Indies 219 & 373 (Chase 95) beat
Zimbabwe 159 & 316 (Taylor 73) by 117 runs
First Test, Bulawayo, day four

Devendra Bishoo picked a nine wicket haul as West Indies managed to dismiss Zimbabwe for 316 runs in the final innings and completed a convincing 117 run victory to take a 1-0 unassailable lead in the two-match series.

West Indies resumed the day with a score of 369 for eight, having stretched their lead to 429 runs. In the first ball of the day, Graeme Cremer (4-114) castled Kemar Roach (0) and soon Sean Williams (3-91) claimed the final wicket of Roston Chase (95) leaving him five runs short of a deserving century.

West Indies could manage only four more runs to their overnight score and were bowled out for 373, setting a target of 434 to Zimbabwe.

Hamilton Masakadza (57) and Solomon Mire (47) provided a solid opening stand of 99 runs to give Zimbabwe some hope. Both batsmen went on at a strike around 60s and looked in no trouble.

With West Indies hardly finding ways to get the first breakthrough, it was part-time option of Kraigg Brathwaite (1-30) that provided the opening as he accounted for Masakadza.

With Roach (1-34) also joining the wicket-taking act when he castled the other opener Mire, Bishoo (4-105) removed Craig Ervine (18) and Williams (6) in quick succession as well. Brendan Taylor (73) and Sikandar Raza (30) arrested the slide but Bishoo once again returned to remove the latter while Taylor, who looked good was run out.

A last wicket desperate partnership of 53 runs between Kyle Jarvis (23 not out) and Chris Mpofu (33) helped Zimbabwe cross the 300 run mark but they succumbed to a massive 117 run defeat. Bishoo was named the man of the match for his nine wicket haul in the game.

© Cricket World 2017