< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bolts Defeat Danish Development XI in First Match Of Series

Bolts team that defeated the Ireland Under 19s in Trinity College
©Bolts team that defeated the Ireland Under 19s in Trinity College

After the Bolts posted a competitive 116 on a tricky batting wicket in Trinity College, Tom Stanton took two wickets in the first over of the Danish reply, before James Newland took 4 for 12 to secure a 19-run victory for the hosts in the first match of the five-match series.

The visitors got off to a quick start removing Tector and Lewis early and when Delany (19) departed the Bolts were 43/3 nearly half-way through their overs.

A valuable 38-run partnership between Eddie Richardson (28) and Matt Ford (27 off just 13) sped things up and James Newland added a vital run a ball 15 before the close.

All told it meant the Bolts posted 116 despite losing nine wickets throughout the twenty overs.

The Danish reply had the worst possible start as Tom Stanton and wicket-keeper Patrick Tice combined to stump Henriksen off the first ball before Stanton trapped Mahmood LBW next delivery.

Newland backed him up taking a wicket first ball of the second over and the Danes were on the backfoot immediately.

Hamid Shah (30 off 44) frustrated the Bolts bowlers for a time but between Stanton and Newland and an inventive piece of quick-thinking from Fionn Hand to run out the non-striker Uddin, Denmark were always struggling to keep up with the required rate.

As a result, the Bolts eased to a 19-run victory in the end.

The two sides play games two and three in the series on Thursday at 11am and 4pm with both games once again at Trinity College and entrance is free.  

20-Over Match, Leinster Lightning Bolts v Denmark Developmental XI

At College Park, Trinity College, Dublin;

Leinster Lightning Bolts 116/9 20 overs (E Richardson 28, 85, M Ford 27, G Delany 19; J Jojo 2-12, N Damgaard 2-17, O Hayatt 2-21)

Denmark Development XI 97/9 20 overs (H Shah 30, O Hald 19; J Newland 4-12, T Stanton 3-7, M Thompson 1-26)

Leinster Lightning Bolts win by 19 runs