< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bowlers hold nerve to clinch maiden IPL title for Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad held their nerve to complete a eight-run victory in the final.
Sunrisers Hyderabad held their nerve to complete a eight-run victory in the final.

Sunrisers Hyderabad 208-7 (Warner 69) beat
Royal Challengers Bangalore 200-7 (Gayle 76) by eight runs
Final, Indian Premier League, Bangalore

The Sunrisers Hyderabad bowlers held their nerve in a high-scoring finale of the Indian Premier League and secured their maiden title by beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight runs in a chase of 209 runs in Bangalore.

Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli hit fifties and shared a 114-run opening partnership in the chase but once the pair fell, Royal Challengers Bangalore were unable to push on and ended up with only 200 for seven on the board.

Earlier in the day, a solid knock of 69 runs from David Warner and cameos from Yuvraj Singh and Ben Cutting took Sunrisers Hyderabad to 208 for seven in 20 overs.

Batting first after winning the toss, Sunrisers Hyderabad were handed an early reprieve when Gayle (0-24) dropped Shikhar Dhawan (28) in the second over.

Dhawan and Warner (69) took off and scored boundaries at will, taking the team to 59 for naught by the end of the powerplay.

After a 25-ball knock, Dhawan was caught at deep square leg in the seventh over. Warner smashed a six and two fours as he brought up a 24-ball fifty.

Moments later, he was dropped by the wicket-keeper. Moises Henriques (4) fell in the 10th over and Sunrisers Hyderabad were 97 for two at the halfway mark.

Singh (38) smashed two fours and a six in the next two overs. The big breakthrough came in the 14th over with Sreenath Aravind (2-30) sending Warner back to the hut with a short ball.

Singh hit another six and a four as Sunrisers Hyderabad ended up with 140 for three after 15 overs.
Deepak Hooda (3), Singh, Naman Ojha (7) and Bipul Sharma (5) fell in successive overs.

Nevertheless, Cutting (39 not out) kept the innings on the right course with a 15-ball cameo as he took Shane Watson (0-61) apart for a four and three sixes in the final over.

24 runs came from the 20th over and Sunrisers Hyderabad posted 208 for seven.

Gayle (76) and Kohli (54) began the chase in a steady fashion. Gayle took Barinder Sran (1-41) apart for 16 runs in the fourth over and followed it up with a six and a four in the next.

A tight sixth over from Mustafizur Rahman (1-37) restricted Royal Challengers Bangalore to 59 for naught. With a six, Gayle brought up a 25-ball fifty.

Gayle and Kohli upped the ante even further and plundered 21 runs from the ninth over and took 12 more from the 10th, posting 112 for naught at the halfway mark.

Kohli was dropped by Rahman in the 11th over but moments later, Cutting (2-35) had Gayle caught at third man.

After crossing the 50-run mark, Kohli was castled by Sran in the 13th over. AB de Villiers (5) failed to get going and fell in the 14th over and by the end of the 15th over, Royal Challengers Bangalore needed 51 runs with seven wickets in hand.

Lokesh Rahul (11) and Watson (11) were dismissed in successive overs and needed 37 runs from 18 balls with five wickets in hand.

Rahman and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0-25) gave away just 28 runs in the final three overs. A barrage of accurate yorkers stifled Royal Challengers Bangalore, who were restricted to 200 for seven.

With this eight-wicket win, Sunrisers Hyderabad clinched their maiden IPL title. For his all-round efforts, Cutting took home the man of the match award. For his emphatic form with the bat, Kohli won the player of the series award.

© Cricket World 2016