< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bravo and Brathwaite return to WINDIES ODI squad for Bangladesh series

Rovman Powell
Rovman Powell
©CWI Media/Randy Brooks of Brooks Latouche Photography

The Selection Panel of Cricket West Indies has named a 15-member squad to play Bangladesh in three (3) One Day Internationals on December 9,11,14 in Bangladesh. 

The selection sees the return of Darren Bravo to the ODI squad, along with T20 skipper Carlos Brathwaite and Roston Chase.  Recent debutants, Fabian Allen, Chandrapaul Hemraj and Oshane Thomas retain their places following the ODI series against India last month. 

Due to the absence of regular Captain Jason Holder, CWI’s Board of Directors has approved Rovman Powell as interim Captain, as the WINDIES seek to reverse the recent 2-1 home series defeat in July 2018.

Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne said, “With two more ODI Series before the 2019 World Cup, the Bangladesh series allows us to narrow our search for our final 15-member World Cup squad. In the absence of captain Jason Holder, the panel believes the team can still be competitive, especially with the return of Darren Bravo. Darren’s experience will add value to the batting, which in turn will place selection pressure for spots in the squad. The selection panel therefore takes this opportunity to wish the team much success in Bangladesh.”

 The full team is as follows:

1.     Rovman Powell (Captain)
2.     Marlon Samuels
3.     Devendra Bishoo
4.     Roston Chase
5.     Chandrapaul Hemraj
6.     Shimron Hetmyer
7.     Darren Bravo
8.     Shai Hope
9.     Carlos Brathwaite
10.  Keemo Paul
11.  Kieran Powell
12.  Fabian Allen
13.  Kemar Roach
14.  Sunil Ambris
15.  Oshane Thomas



  • 1st Test – November 22 – Chattogram
  • 2nd Test – November 30 – Mirpur
  • 1st ODI – December 9 – Mirpur
  • 2nd ODI – December 11 – Mirpur
  • 3rd ODI – December 14 – Sylhet
  • 1st T20I – December 17 – Sylhet
  • 2nd T20I – December 20 – Mirpur
  • 3rd T20I – December 22 – Mirpur