< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bravo and Jadhav snatch victory from the jaws of defeat for CSK


The second cycle of the IPL could not have kick started with a better encounter as Chennai Super Kings (169-9) made a comeback to the league with a 1-wicket victory against defending champions Mumbai Indians (165-4).


Mumbai Indians are known to be slow starters but it was all set to change in the opening match of IPL 2018. However, Dwayne Bravo and Kedar Jadhav had other plans.

At the end of the 17th over, CSK required 47 runs to win off 18 balls. CSK all-rounder Dwayne Bravo was at the crease and was up against Mitchell McClenaghan (4-44-1). The first ball he faced was a half volley on middle stump which he muscled straight past the bowler for a six. The next ball was on a similar length but was aimed towards Bravo’s body which the Trinidadian clubbed over mid wicket for another maximum. A ball later, a pull shot fetched him another boundary over mid wicket.

The next over was bowled by Jasprit Bumrah, arguably the best T20 death bowler in the world, with Chennai needing 27 to win off the last two overs. The first two balls he bowled were attempted yorkers which missed their mark by a whisker and were clubbed for consecutive sixes by Bravo. Two balls later, the ball whizzed over the cow corner for another six. Bumrah came back on the last ball of the over to have Bravo (68) holed out by Rohit Sharma at mid-off.

With CSK 9 down and no more wickets remaining, Kedar Jadhav, who was earlier retired hurt after pulling his hamstring, came out to bat with 7 needed off the last over of Mustafizur Rahman. After consuming the first three deliveries, Jadhav(24) dished out a special cameo to smash a six and four off consecutive deliveries to present CSK with a one-wicket win.

Earlier, MI was put in to bat on a slightly green top and struggled to get going in the initial overs. With the ball jagging around, young pacer Deepak Chahar (3-14-1) and Aussie all-rounder Shane Watson (4-29-2) started strong to keep MI’s scoring rate under check.

Captain Rohit Sharma (15) and Evin Lewis (0) fell early but the ship was steadied by Jharkhand wicket-keeper batsman Ishan Kishan (40) and Surya Kumar Yadav (43).However, it was Krunal Pandya (41) who took off from where he had left in the finals of IPL 2017 and gave his side the much needed final flourish.

Chasing a target of 166, CSK lost track after losing early wickets of Shane Watson (16) and Suresh Raina (4). Punjab leg spinner Mayank Markande (4-23-3) had a dream debut as he dismissed Ambati Rayudu (22), skipper MS Dhoni (5) and Deepak Chahar (0) in quick succession to break the back of the CSK middle order.

However, it was Dwayne Bravo’s valiant all round effort that helped CSK to get over the line for which he fittingly bagged the Man of the Match award.

© Cricket World 2018