< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bravo, Pollard Left Out Of West Indies World Cup Squad

Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy
Dwayne Bravo (second left) and Kieron Pollard (third left) have missed out on World Cup selection
©REUTERS / Action Images

All-rounders Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard are notable omissions from the West Indies' 15-man squad for the Cricket World Cup 2015.

Bravo and Pollard were both named in a 30-man preliminary squad in December, from which batsman Jonathan Carter is the only uncapped player to have made it into the final 15.

After the West Indies' withdrawal from the One-Day International series in India, in which Bravo captained, Jason Holder was installed as the new captain and he will lead the side.

Spinner Sunil Narine, despite missing the tour of the West Indies and the ongoing tour of South Africa to work on his bowling action after being reported and suspended during the Champions League T20, is also included in the squad.

And Darren Bravo - Dwayne's half-brother - is back in the squad having pulled out of the Test squad to tour South Africa due to personal reasons.

The squad includes two specialist spinners in Narine and Sulieman Benn with vice-captain Marlon Samuels, Darren Bravo, Carter, Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons and Dwayne Smith making up a powerful batting line-up.

All-rounders Holder, Andre Russell and Darren Sammy are included as Bravo and Pollard miss out, Denesh Ramdin takes the wicket-keeping gloves and fast bowlers Sheldon Cottrell, Kemar Roach and Jerome Taylor complete the squad.

The West Indies play Ireland, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, South Africa, India and the United Arab Emireates in Pool B of the World Cup, which is co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

At the same time that they named their World Cup squad, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has confirmed the 12 players who have received 12-month retainer contracts.

Dwayne Bravo makes that list but Pollard also misses out while Gayle and Narine have turned down the contracts, which will run from 1st October 2014 to 30th September 2015.

West Indies World Cup squad: Jason Holder (captain), Marlon Samuels (vice-captain), Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor

West Indies retainer contracts: Sulieman Benn, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jason Holder, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor

© Cricket World 2015


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep