< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brendon McCullum Farewell At Gabba

Brendon McCullum Farewell At Gabba
Brendon McCullum Farewell At Gabba

The Brisbane Heat have made one change ahead of their last home match of the KFC Big Bash League tomorrow night at the Gabba against the Melbourne Stars.

The Heat have recalled pace bowler Brendan Doggett in place of batsman Sam Heazlett in the only change to the team that defeated the Adelaide Strikers in Adelaide on Sunday.

The must-win match also doubles as Brendon McCullum’s final home game for the Heat as he brings down the curtain on a BBL career that started in the competition’s very first match.

The Heat can fan their faint Finals hopes by defeating the Stars, before waiting on the outcomes of the two remaining regular round games over the weekend.

If Brisbane win tomorrow night, they then need to see the Sydney Thunder lose to the Hobart Hurricanes on Saturday night, and then have the Stars lose to the Sydney Sixers on Sunday night to snatch fourth spot.

Melbourne beat Brisbane at the MCG in the past fortnight.

McCullum will finish with the Heat at the end of the BBL, having scored 302 runs so far this season including four half centuries.

He captained Brisbane on 18 occasions and he and fellow ‘Bash Brother” Chris Lynn own two of the club’s batting partnership records, combining for 148 for the second wicket against the Scorchers in 2017 and 109 against the Hurricanes in 2016, as well as putting on 90 for the first wicket with Jimmy Peirson in 2016 against the Strikers.

He and Matt Renshaw also produced a milestone partnership on Sunday, with their match-winning stand of 122 for the fourth wicket allowing Brisbane to recover from a precarious 3-18.

Tomorrow night’s game starts at 7.40pm, with tickets selling quickly through Ticketek.

Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars
50. Chris Lynn (c)
17. Max Bryant
31. Ben Cutting
35. Brendan Doggett
30. Matthew Kuhnemann
2. Josh Lalor
42. Brendon McCullum (Int)
59. James Peirson
16. Jack Prestwidge
77. Matt Renshaw
49 Alex Ross
6 Mark Steketee
4 Mitch Swepson

© Cricket World 2019