< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brett Lee Awarded Allan Border Medal

Paceman Brett Lee was awarded the Allan Border Medal on Tuesday as Australia's best cricketer over the past year, joining Glenn McGrath as the only bowlers to receive the honour. Lee overcame a serious ankle injury that forced him to miss Australia's World Cup victory in the Caribbean to collect the country's top individual award eight years after he was named as Australia's most promising young player. The 31-year-old was also named best test player of the season for capturing 40 wickets at an average of 20.58 after he was thrust into the role of Australia's main strike bowler following the retirements of McGrath and Shane Warne. Opening batsman Matthew Hayden won the award for one-day player of the year after being recognised as the International Cricket Council's one-day player for 2007. The powerful left-hander had struggled to hold his place in the team the previous season but fought his way back to play a leading role at the World Cup, smashing 659 runs at 73.22 despite playing the tournament with a fractured toe. Promising Queensland all-rounder Ashley Noffke was named as the leading player from the domestic interstate competition while Western Australia batsman Luke Pomersbach won the young cricketer of the year award. George Giffen, who died in 1927 after playing 31 tests for Australia, and wicketkeeper Ian Healy were inducted into the Hall of Fame during the gala ceremony in Melbourne. McGrath won the inaugural Allan Border Medal in 2000. Steve Waugh (2001), Hayden (2002), Adam Gilchrist (2003) and Michael Clarke (2005) also won the award once each while current captain Ricky Ponting has won it three times (2004, 2006 and 2007). © Reuters 2008
Official Cricket Australia Website