Brilliant Raina Century Sets Sri Lanka 246 To Win Final

Brilliant Raina Century Sets Sri Lanka 246 To Win Final
Brilliant Raina Century Sets Sri Lanka 246 To Win Final
©REUTERS/Andrew Biraj (BANGLADESH - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Bookmark and Share

India 245 (Raina 106, Sehwag 42, Kulasekara 4-42) v Sri Lanka

Idea Cup One-Day International tri-series final, Mirpur

An outstanding Suresh Raina century rescued India from a desperate position and enabled them to set Sri Lanka 246 to win the Idea Cup final in Mirpur.

Sri Lanka chose to field and secured five quick wickets as India struggled to put runs on the board but Raina's 106 in 111 balls enabled them to fight back and post a competitive score.

After ten overs, Sri Lanka had ripped through the Indian top order and despite Virender Sehwag rattling along (42 off 27 balls), he too was dismissed to leave India 60 for five.

Superb bowling by both opening bowlers, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chanaka Welagedara coupled with loose driving by the Indian batsmen gave Kumar Sangakkara three catches and Thilan Samaraweera one at first slip, to dismiss the dangerous Yuvraj Singh.

When Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was caught and fifth out his dismissal gave Sangakkara his 300th ODI catch to put him third after Adam Gilchrist and Mark Boucher in the all-time list for wicket-keepers.

That brought Raina and Ravi Jadeja (38) together and they added a priceless 106 for the sixth wicket, Jadeja playing patiently while Raina attacked, hitting ten fours and one big six over midwicket.

Jadeja was dismissed when Tillakaratne Dilshan had him trapped in front immediately after the mandatory ball change and wickets then tumbled, Raina finally dismissed when he was bowled by Welagedara.

Kulasekara finished with figures of four for 48 and Welagedara three for 53 before Thissara Perera ended India's resistance by bowling Shanthakumaran Sreesanth for four in the 49th over.

India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, *+Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravi Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth  

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, *+Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Thilina Kandamby, Thissara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chanaka Welagedara

 © Cricket World 2010

Bookmark and Share