< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brisbane Heat beat Adelaide Strikers by 6 wickets in rebel WBBL Final

Brisbane Heat beat Adelaide Strikers by 6 wickets in rebel WBBL Final

Brisbane Heat beat Adelaide Strikers by 6 wickets in rebel WBBL Final in front of a sell out crowd at the Allan Border Field, Brisbane earlier today.


Match Summary

Brisbane Heat 162 – 4 (Beth Mooney 56*, Jess Jonassen 33; Tahlia McGrath 2-34)

Adelaide Strikers 161 – 7 (Tahlia McGrath 33, Amanda Wellington 55; Georgia Prestwidge 2-24, Jess Jonassen 2-30)

Result - Brisbane Heat won by 6 wickets

For the second consecutive season, the rebel Women’s Big Bash League Final sold out. The gates at Allan Border Field were shut at 1pm local time after the last remaining tickets for today’s decider between the Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers were snapped up prior to the start of play.

Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to field and Adelaide Strikers posted a competitive 161 – 7 in their 20 overs with Tahlia McGrath 33 and Amanda Wellington 55 the main run getters and  Georgia Prestwidge 2-24 and Jess Jonassen 2-30, the stars with the ball for Brisbane Heat.

In reply, Brisbane Heat chased down the runs required scoring 162 – 4 with 11 balls to spare -  Beth Mooney 56* and Jess Jonassen 33 top scoring and Tahlia McGrath 2-34 the main wicket taker for the Strikers.

Match Report

Brisbane captain Kirby Short won the toss and sent the Strikers in, with the Heat removing key player Sophie Devine early for five.

Bates and Tahlia McGrath built an important partnership following the loss of Devine, putting on 59-run runs before McGrath was dismissed for 33 (20 balls).

Bates (27), Bridget Patterson (12) and Katie Mack (6) soon followed McGrath to the dugout but an incredible innings from Amanda-Jade Wellington (55 from 33 balls) pushed the Strikers to a defendable 7/161.

Tegan McPharlin also played a late cameo, compiling 18 runs from 14 balls.

In reply, the Heat were on from ball one and by the time Sammy-Jo Johnson (27 from 11 balls) pumped four consecutive sixes in an over, it was tough for the Strikers to swing momentum back their way.

Everything seemed to go the Heat's way and Beth Mooney (55*) eventually guided the home side across the line in the 19th over.

Tahlia McGrath (2/34) was the standout with the ball for the Strikers, while Sarah Coyte and Devine also took a scalp each.



Match Details


Brisbane Heat -Kirby Short(c), Beth Mooney(wk), Jess Jonassen, Maddy Green, Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Amelia Kerr, Delissa Kimmince, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Mikayla Hinkley, Georgia Prestwidge

Adelaide Strikers - Suzie Bates(c), Sophie Devine, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Katie Mack, Amanda Wellington, Tegan McPharlin(wk), Annie O'Neil, Sarah Coyte, Megan Schutt, Alex Price

Start Time: 03:40

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Allan Border Field, Brisbane

Officials: Claire Polosak, Ben Treloar, Darren Close, David Johnston

©Cricket World 2019