< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brisbane Heat beat Sydney Thunder by 16 runs (DLS) in rain affected BBL

Jack Prestwidge 2-15 for the Heat
Rain delayed play at the Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney

Albeit a truncated, rain affected encounter, it turned out to be a thrilling match that was eventually won by the Heat by 16 runs (DLS)


Match Summary

Sydney Thunder 60 – 4 (5 Ovs) – (Alex Hales 20*; Jack Prestwidge 2-15)

Brisbane Heat 119 – 4 (8 Ovs) – (Tom Banton 56, Chris Lynn 31; Dan Sams 2-24)

Result - Brisbane Heat won by 16 runs (D/L)


Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to bat against Sydney Thunder and totalled an astonsishing 119 – 4 in their 8 Overs with Tom Banton scoring 56, the second fastest half century ever in BBL history and Chris Lynn 31; Dan Sams 2-24 was the pick of the bowlers for the Thunder.

In reply, and with further stoppages for rain, Sydney Thunder required 76 runs to win (D/L) off just 5 overs. They managed to score 60 – 4 with Alex Hales 20* top scoring and  Jack Prestwidge 2-15 the pick of the wicket takers for the Heat.

Heat Media 

The Brisbane Heat return home to Brisbane later today after winning a rain-affected clash with the Sydney Thunder at Spotless Stadium.

The Heat won by 16 runs (DLS method) after thrashing 4-119 from eight overs. English batsman Tom Banton recorded the second fastest BBL half century of all time in the innings, reaching 55 from just 16 balls - one over going for 5x6s.

It is the second year in a row that the Heat have won a rain-affected game against the Thunder in Sydney.

Brisbane currently sit in fifth spot on the KFC Big Bash League ladder and will now focus on Thursday night's Gabba match against the Hobart Hurricanes.

Thursday's game starts at 6.10pm. Tickets are selling quickly for the match which will be the second home game at the Gabba for the Heat in BBL|09.


BBL|09 Brisbane Heat BBL Games


Thursday 9 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Hobart Hurricanes,           Gabba   6.10pm

Saturday 11 Jan: Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat,             Optus    8.10pm

Tuesday 14 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers,             Gabba   2.40pm

Friday 17 Jan: Adelaide Strikers v Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Oval    2.40pm

Sunday 19 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Renegades,   Gabba   6.10pm

Thursday 23 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers, Gabba   6.10pm

Saturday 25 Jan: Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat,             MCG      5.40pm

Mon 27 Jan: Melbourne Renegades v Brisbane Heat, Marvel Stadium   1.45pm





Sydney Thunder - Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson(c), Matthew Gilkes(wk), Alex Ross, Chris Morris, Daniel Sams, Chris Green, Arjun Nair, Chris Tremain, Brendan Doggett

Brisbane Heat - Tom Banton, Max Bryant, Chris Lynn(c), Matthew Renshaw, Jimmy Peirson(wk), Ben Cutting, Jack Prestwidge, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Lalor, Ben Laughlin, Zahir Khan


Match Details


Start Time: 08:10

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney

Officials: Greg Davidson, Simon Fry, Gerard Abood, Troy Penman, Robert Stratford



©Cricket World 2020