< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brisbane Heat keeps winning combo for WBBL

Grace Harris
Grace Harris
©Brisbane Heat

The WBBL Brisbane Heat have maintained an unchanged squad of 13 ahead of their three-match Rebel Women’s Big Bash League away series in Perth and Launceston over the Christmas-New Year period.

The Heat, fresh from winning two of their past three games in commanding fashion, take on the Perth Scorchers at Optus Stadium on Boxing Day night before travelling to Launceston where they will play the Hobart Hurricanes in two games at UTAS Stadium on December 30 and 31.
Brisbane currently sit at third on the ladder and will be out to maintain a top four position leading into the back half of the competition in January.
After seven matches, the Heat have combined individual brilliance with a solid all-round team performance for their wins.
Allrounder Grace Harris is scoring at a strike rate of more than 200 while three bowlers – Jemma Barsby, Sammy-Jo Johnson and Delissa Kimmince – each have economy rates less than seven runs per over.
The Heat defeated defending champions Sydney Sixers yesterday by 66 runs.
Brisbane’s match against the Scorchers on Boxing Day night will follow the KFC Big Bash League game at Optus Stadium between Perth and Adelaide.
That game will be broadcast from 9.45pm local time on Seven and FOX Cricket.
The Heat will then play the Hurricanes on December 30 at Launceston as part of a Hurricanes double-header at the venue.
WBBL Brisbane Heat squad
V Perth Scorchers, Boxing Day, Perth, 9.45pm Qld time
V Hobart Hurricanes, Dec 30, Launceston, 12.50pm, Qld time (Seven/FOX Cricket)
V Hobart Hurricanes Dec 31, Launceston, 11.30am. Qld time (cricket.com.au stream)
10. Kirby Short (c)
15. Jemma Barsby
23. Haidee Birkett
3. Josie Dooley
17. Grace Harris
4. Laura Harris
58. Sammy-Jo Johnson
21. Jess Jonassen
11. Delissa Kimmince
96. Sune Luus (Int)
6. Beth Mooney
16. Georgia Prestwidge
14 Laura Wolvaardt (Int)
Coach: Peter McGiffin
Asst coach: Scott Prestwidge