< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brisbane Heat, Melbourne Stars aim to seal semi-final spot

Joe Burns will captain Brisbane Heat in the absence of Brendon McCullum
Joe Burns will captain Brisbane Heat in the absence of Brendon McCullum

28th Match - Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat
16th January, 19:40 local | 8:40 GMT, Melbourne Cricket Ground

After having won four matches each previously, both Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Stars will aim to secure a semi-final berth when they lock horns with each other in the 28th game of the Big Bash League at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

Melbourne Stars are heading into the game with three consecutive wins behind them and they came up with a clinical bowling performance against Perth Scorchers where they restricted the opposition to 134 runs and chased the total with ease. Kevin Pietersen with 224 runs has been the pick of their batsmen while Rob Quiney with 192 runs has been impressive as well. They will be expecting more from the likes of David Hussey.

Marcus Stoinis will be heading to join the Australian squad after the game while Adam Zampa has also been released to play Tuesday's encounter. Zampa, Seb Gotch and Sam Harper replace Handscomb, Liam Bowe and Jackson Coleman in the 13-man squad.

Meanwhile, Brisbane Heat will be without their most prolific run-scorers this season. Chriss Lynn, who was with the Australian squad for the ODI series against Pakistan will be assessed for a neck injury while skipper Brendon McCullum will miss the game after he was sanctioned one-match ban for poor over-rate.

Alex Doolan, Marnus Labuschagne and Nick Buchanan have been added to the squad.

Face to Face:

The last time these two teams met was during the 29th game of the previous season when Lynn smashed a 24-ball 56 to power Brisbane Heat to 188 for seven in the 20 overs. In response, Melbourne Stars managed only 132 for nine despite an unbeaten 61 from Evan Gulbis.

Squads from:

Melbourne Stars:

David Hussey (captain), Michael Beer, Scott Boland, Cameron Gannon, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Sam Harper, Ben Hilfenhaus, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Luke Wright, Adam Zampa

Brisbane Heat

Joe Burns (captain), Nick Buchanan, Ben Cutting, Alex Doolan, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Tymal Mills, Jimmy Peirson, Nathan Reardon, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Jack Wildermuth

© Cricket World 2017