Brisbane Heat overcome Stoinis 99 to kick-start BBL campaign with a win

Marcus Stoinis was run out on 99
Marcus Stoinis was run out on 99

Brisbane Heat 206-7 (Ross 51) beat
Melbourne Stars 191-6 (Stoinis 99) by 15 runs
2nd game, Big Bash League, Brisbane

A 51-ball 99 run knock from Marcus Stoinis did not prove enough as Melbourne Stars went on to lose by 15 runs while chasing 207 against Brisbane Heat in the second game of the Big Bash League at The Gabba.

Chasing over 10 an over, Melbourne Stars lost Ben Dunk (0), Kevin Pietersen (10) and Glenn Maxwell (8) in the powerplay with Shadab Khan (2-41) claiming two of the wickets. However, Luke Wright (19) and Stoinis (99) batted positively which meant they managed a score of 51 runs in the powerplay.

Just when the visitors were gaining momentum, Shadab once again struck, this time castling Wright but Stoinis struck two more sixes in the ninth over and at the halfway mark, Melbourne Stars needed 126 runs.

The Aussie all-rounder went severe on Ben Cutting (0-22) as he plundered him for 22 runs in the 13th over that included two apiece of sixes and boundaries and in the process also completed his half-century.

Despite, James Faulkner (47 not out) was struggling with run a ball innings, Stoinis brilliance meant got the target down to 41 runs off the final two overs and he responded with a six and a four in the penultimate over to bring down to 24 runs off the final over.

Nevertheless, Mark Steketee (1-39) ensured Brisbane completed a 15-run victory but Stoinis had a heartbreak when he was run out on 99 when he looked for the second run to retain the strike.

Earlier, it was a 22-ball cameo from Brendon McCullum (40) that kick-started the Brisbane innings but a double strike from Michael Beer (2-21) pegged back their momentum a bit.

Half centuries from Joe Burns (50) and Alex Ross (51) along with a 18-ball cameo from Cutting (35) helped them post 206 runs in the 20 overs. Stoinis (3-38) picked three wickets as well while Beer was impressive for the Stars.

Stoinis was awarded the player of the match despite ending on the losing side.

© Cricket World 2017