< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brisbane Heat Set To Shine In BBL09

Brisbane Heat Set To Shine In BBL09
Brisbane Heat Set To Shine In BBL09

The Brisbane Heat will open and close the regular season of a revamped KFC Big Bash League these summer holidays.

The Heat will launch BBL|09 at the Gabba on Tuesday 17 December against the Sydney Thunder, and will close off the regular season against defending champions Melbourne Renegades at Marvel Stadium on Monday 27 January 2020.

The Heat will again play two matches at Gold Coast’s Metricon Stadium, with pre-Christmas clash against the Melbourne Stars on 20 December and a New Year’s Day evening game against first-time visitors Perth Scorchers.

Both Gold Coast games will start at 6.10pm.

As well as hosting the Thunder before Christmas, the Heat’s remaining Gabba matches post New Year’s Day will feature the Hobart Hurricanes, Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Sixers.

Brisbane’s match against the Adelaide Strikers on Tuesday 14 January at the Gabba will be a rare day-game, with play starting at 2.40pm.

The Heat’s last regular season home game will be on 23 January, with most of its games scheduled in broadcasting prime time on Seven and FOX Cricket.

BBL|09 will be two weeks shorter than last summer, with 56 games over 42 days.

The Finals format has been substantially revamped, with a top five finals system rewarding the top two teams with a double chance.

Brisbane General Manager Andrew McShea said among the enhancements to the Heat’s home game schedule was a majority of Gabba matches starting at 6.10pm local time.

“The Heat know that we bring families together during the summer holidays and to have the first ball bowled at 6.10pm will be a positive for the mums and dads and kids that come along to the Gabba and Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast,’’ he said.

“All of our regular season home games will be played during the school holidays which is also very attractive to our fans,” McShea said.

“We think a night game in prime time on New Year’s Day on the Gold Coast is pretty special and we’ve got a day game at the Gabba as well during January which is a bit different, so we’re keen to do things a little differently for that match.”

“With our principal partner CUA renewed for another three years recently, we have some excellent momentum off the field and there are a number of elements we are looking forward to unveiling in the lead-up to the first game.”

“Having the rebel WBBL as a stand-alone competition for the first time from October through to December is a wonderful opportunity for us as a club to spread the word to our existing fans as well as attract new supporters,” he said.

Brisbane Heat coach Darren Lehmann said he was excited to be making his return to the teal team after being the club’s foundation coach.

“The BBL has come a long way since we started it, but I know the Brisbane Heat playing and coaching staff will be ready to enjoy ourselves and entertain our fans when we hit the ground,’’ he said.

“I’m looking forward to the games at Metricon Stadium too because it looked fantastic last season when the Heat hosted the first BBL games there.”

“We’re currently working on our plans for the lead-in to the BBL and the season proper and obviously are keen to finalise our squad as soon as possible,’’ said Lehmann, who will travel to the United Kingdom during the Ashes series.

The Heat will open its VIP Match Day Hospitality renewals process on Tuesday while Heat Membership renewals get underway from 5 August.

Tickets for the WBBL and BBL Heat games will go on sale closer to the start of the respective tournaments.

BBL|09 Brisbane Heat BBL Games
(all times listed Qld time)

Tuesday 17 Dec: Brisbane Heat v Sydney Thunder,             Gabba   6.10pm
Friday 20 Dec: Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars, Metricon Stadium            6.10pm
Sunday 22 Dec: Sydney Sixers v Brisbane Heat,     SCG        6.10pm
Wed 1 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers,         Metricon Stadium            6.10pm
Friday 3 Jan: Hobart Hurricanes v Brisbane Heat, Blundstone Arena            6.10pm
Monday 6 Jan: Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat, Spotless Stadium              6.10pm
Thursday 9 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Hobart Hurricanes,           Gabba   6.10pm
Saturday 11 Jan: Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat,             Optus    8.10pm
Tuesday 14 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers,             Gabba   2.40pm
Friday 17 Jan: Adelaide Strikers v Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Oval    2.40pm
Sunday 19 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Renegades,   Gabba   6.10pm
Thursday 23 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers, Gabba   6.10pm
Saturday 25 Jan: Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat,             MCG      5.40pm
Mon 27 Jan: Melbourne Renegades v Brisbane Heat, Marvel Stadium                1.45pm


The Eliminator   
Thursday, 30 January 2020            4th         vs.          5th
The Qualifier
Friday, 31 January 2020  1st          vs.          2nd
The Knockout
Saturday, 1 February 2020            3rd         vs.          Winner of The Eliminator
The Challenger
Thursday, 6 February 2020           Loser of the Qualifier      vs.          Winner of The Knockout
Saturday, 8 February 2020            Winner of the Qualifier  vs.          Winner of The Challenger

© Cricket World 2019

Official Cricket Australia Website
Official Cricket Australia Website