< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brisbane Heat Squad Set For WBBL Festival

Brisbane Heat Squad Set For WBBL Festival
Brisbane Heat Squad Set For WBBL Festival

The WBBL Brisbane Heat has retained the same 13-player squad that split its opening round of rebel Women’s Big Bash League games for this weekend’s Festival round at Allan Border Field.

The reigning champions won the rematch of last year’s Final against the Sydney Sixers last weekend at North Sydney Oval and then lost a tight encounter with the Sydney Thunder.

There will be four WBBL games staged over the weekend at Allan Border Field, with the Heat taking on the Perth Scorchers, featuring Australian captain Meg Lanning and former Heat allrounder Jemma Barsby, tomorrow at 1.10pm.

Brisbane then back up on Sunday against the ladder leading Hobart Hurricanes from 1.10pm.

The earlier game of the respective double-headers features the Adelaide Strikers taking on Hobart Hurricanes tomorrow morning from 9.40am and then Perth Scorchers playing the Adelaide Strikers on Sunday from 9.40am.

Brisbane teenagers Charli Knott and Courtney Sippel would make their WBBL debuts if chosen to play over the weekend.

Limited tickets remain for sale through Ticketek.com.au for both days with adults $10 and children free with a ticket. 

This is the first time a ticketed WBBL event has been held in Brisbane, following on from strong attendances for ticketed Women’s International events at the venue over the past two years.

The four weekend matches will be broadcast live on 7Mate and FOX Sports, streamed through Kayo and covered by ABC Grandstand.

Gates open at 9am each day.


v Perth Scorchers (tomorrow, 1.10pm Qld time)
v Hobart Hurricanes (Sunday, 1.10pm Qld time)
at Allan Border Field, Brisbane

10. Kirby Short (c)
5. Maddy Green (international)
17. Grace Harris
4. Laura Harris
14. Mikayla Hinkley
58. Sammy-Jo Johnson
21. Jessica Jonassen
48. Amelia Kerr (international)
11. Delissa Kimmince
88. Charli Knott
6. Beth Mooney
16. Georgia Prestwidge
37. Courtney Sippel

Coach: Ashley Noffke, Asst coach: Scott Prestwidge.

© Cricket World 2019