< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Brisbane Heat Stars Turn Out For Clubs in Bulls Masters First Grade competition

©Brisbane Heat

The Brisbane Heat will use this weekend’s bumper round of Bulls Masters First Grade competition matches to springboard into Tuesday night’s KFC Big Bash League opener against the Sydney Thunder at the Gabba.

The three rounds of Queensland Premier Cricket T20 matches will feature Heat squad members playing across tomorrow and Sunday, with all games live-streamed through the Premier Cricket match centre 

There will be with two rounds tomorrow, starting at 10am and 2.30pm, and a “rivalry round” on Sunday from 2.15pm.

Among the highlights will feature Heat captain Chris Lynn playing for Toombul at Ken Mackay Oval tomorrow morning against last season’s T20 champions University of Queensland.

English import Tom Banton will turn out on Sunday afternoon for Wynnum-Manly in the battle of the bayside against Redlands at Peter Burge Oval, where his opposition will include Heat teammates Josh Lalor, Jimmy Peirson and Sam Heazlett.

Wynnum-Manly and Redlands will also host Old Boys gatherings at Peter Burge Oval to coincide with Sunday’s clash.

Lynn and Matt Renshaw are set to feature in Sunday’s clash with neighbouring rivals Norths at Toombul that will include a “Nundah cricket showcase” for fans. The Vikings will have Heat pace bowlers Jack Prestwidge and Cameron Gannon to call upon.

Allrounder Ben Cutting (South Brisbane) and recent recruit Ben Laughlin (Sunshine Coast) will also be in action for their clubs.

The Gold Coast Dolphins will feature batsman Max Bryant and left-arm spinner Matt Kuhnemann across their three matches while paceman Mark Steketee (Valley) and leg-spinner Mitch Swepson (Sandgate-Redcliffe) will also play games across the weekend.

While the Heat players will gain valuable playing time ahead of BBL|09’s competition opener, the Premier Grade clubs will be chasing the lure of a championship title and the chance to be the Queensland representative in the National Premier T20 Championship competition.

University of Queensland made the Final of the inaugural competition last season, losing by one run in a thrilling final in Adelaide.

Heat coach Darren Lehmann said the Premier Cricket connection was important for the club.

“It’s great for the players to enjoy some competitive, quality cricket this close to the Thunder match because nothing beats time in the middle playing the game,’’ he said.

“Some of the lads have had a solid playing workload of late and we’ll manage that to a degree.”

“But it’s important for us to support the clubs too, because they do a great job in keeping the game strong. Hopefully we get to see plenty of fans enjoying the opportunity to have world class players on show at their local clubs over the weekend.”

The Heat play an intra-squad practice game tonight at the Gabba and will have a top-up training session on Monday afternoon after their squad for the opening game is announced

Tuesday's match starts at 6.10pm


The Heat has announced the following contracted players for BBL|09.

Chris Lynn, Tom Banton (international), AB de Villiers (international), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (international), Zahir Khan (International), Ben Laughlin, James Pattinson, Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Sam Heazlett, Matthew Renshaw, Josh Lalor, Mitch Swepson, Jack Prestwidge, Mark Steketee, Jimmy Peirson, Marnus Labuschagne, Matt Kuhnemann, Cameron Gannon

 Rookie: Matt Willans

 BBL|09 Brisbane Heat BBL Games

(all times listed Qld time)


Tuesday 17 Dec: Brisbane Heat v Sydney Thunder,             Gabba   6.10pm

Friday 20 Dec: Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars, Metricon Stadium            6.10pm

Sunday 22 Dec: Sydney Sixers v Brisbane Heat,     SCG        6.10pm

Wed 1 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers,         Metricon Stadium            6.10pm

Friday 3 Jan: Hobart Hurricanes v Brisbane Heat, Blundstone Arena            6.10pm

Monday 6 Jan: Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat, Spotless Stadium              6.10pm

Thursday 9 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Hobart Hurricanes,           Gabba   6.10pm

Saturday 11 Jan: Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat,             Optus    8.10pm

Tuesday 14 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers,             Gabba   2.40pm

Friday 17 Jan: Adelaide Strikers v Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Oval    2.40pm

Sunday 19 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Renegades,   Gabba   6.10pm

Thursday 23 Jan: Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers, Gabba   6.10pm

Saturday 25 Jan: Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat,             MCG      5.40pm

Mon 27 Jan: Melbourne Renegades v Brisbane Heat, Marvel Stadium                1.45pm



The Eliminator

Thursday, 30 January 2020            4th         vs.          5th

The Qualifier

Friday, 31 January 2020  1st          vs.          2nd

The Knockout

Saturday, 1 February 2020            3rd         vs.          Winner of The Eliminator

The Challenger

Thursday, 6 February 2020           Loser of the Qualifier      vs.          Winner of The Knockout


Saturday, 8 February 2020            Winner of the Qualifier  vs.          Winner of The Challenger


* Prices quoted are in relation to tickets purchased at the gate of Brisbane Heat BBL home games. Tickets purchased online attract a per transaction agency fee.