< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Brisbane Heat Unchanged for Competition Leaders Adelaide Strikers

Brisbane Heat Unchanged for Competition Leaders Adelaide Strikers
Brisbane Heat Unchanged for Competition Leaders Adelaide Strikers

The WBBL Brisbane Heat will take an unchanged squad to Mackay for this weekend’s series against the competition leading Adelaide Strikers.

The Heat currently sit in third spot on the rebel Women’s Big Bash League ladder, with the Strikers on top followed by the Sydney Thunder.

A Heat player will be available to speak to media tomorrow at 1pm at Icon Cancer Centre - 148 Sams Rd, North Mackay, with training vision available to be captured from 4:30pm at Harrup Park. Icon are a foundation Brisbane Heat WBBL partner.

The defending WBBL champions head to Mackay with an extra spring in their step after today being announced as a Q Sport Team of the Year Finalist. The Heat will contest the category alongside a strong female field featuring the Brisbane Broncos NRLW and Sunshine Coast Lightning Netball teams. 

Also nominated for a Q Sport Award is Darren Werder from the Mackay Magpies Cricket Club who is shortlisted in the Volunteer of the Year Award category.

Darren's nomination comes after he was named Australian Cricket's Community Ambassador of the Year at this year's A Sport For All Awards following his founding of the Cricket4Every1 Program. Cricket4Every1 is a joint initiative between the Magpies and the Mackay District Special School, run in consultation with Queensland Cricket, that provides students with a four-week course to enjoy cricket in a fun, safe and inclusive environment.

This is the third straight season the Heat have played in Mackay where WBBL matches attract strong crowds and play a pivotal role in driving participation in the Mackay-Whitsunday region, particularly growing the number of women and girls playing the game.

Great Barrier Reef Arena in Mackay holds the record for the WBBL's biggest standalone crowd after 5,650 fans watched the Heat in action against the Strikers in January this year.  

Brisbane Heat General Manager Andrew McShea said: 

“Mackay has become the Brisbane Heat’s second home for the last two seasons, and we are once again expecting to see great support for our champion team at Great Barrier Reef Arena.  

“The Mackay Regional Council have been fantastic supporters of the WBBL and together we are working on bringing another memorable event to life. Fans can expect all the bells and whistles you would experience at a Brisbane Heat home game, including a fireworks spectacular, plenty of family-friendly fun and on-field entertainment to match.

"It is appropriate that our champion team is nominated as Queensland's sporting team of the year when we are about to head to Mackay where we receive such great support from the community and so many volunteers in the region are doing great things to grow cricket."

The Heat travel to Mackay tomorrow morning for the Saturday evening and Sunday afternoon games against the Adelaide Strikers, with both matches free to attend. 

The games will be live-streamed on cricket.com.au and mobile app, Cricket Australia’s Facebook page as well as through Kayo Sport. The matches will also be covered through ABC Grandstand, Local Radio and the ABC Listen App.

WBBL Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers

Great Barrier Reef Arena, Harrup Park, Mackay
Saturday & Sunday

10. Kirby Short (c)
5. Maddy Green (international)
17. Grace Harris
4. Laura Harris
14. Mikayla Hinkley
58. Sammy-Jo Johnson
21. Jessica Jonassen
48. Amelia Kerr (international)
11. Delissa Kimmince
88. Charli Knott
6. Beth Mooney
16. Georgia Prestwidge
37. Courtney Sippel
Coach: Ashley Noffke, Asst coach: Scott Prestwidge.

Match Details: 

Brisbane Heat vs Adelaide Strikers 

  • Game 1: Saturday November 2 – 6:15pm start 
  • Game 2: Sunday November 3 – 3pm start 
  • Great Barrier Reef Arena, Harrup Park, Mackay 
  • Free entry 
  • Live streamed through Kayo Sport and the Cricket.com.au website and mobile app