< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Bruce, Wheeler make it to New Zealand T20I squad

Matt Henry makes a comeback into the New Zealand T20I squad
Matt Henry makes a comeback into the New Zealand T20I squad

New Zealand selectors have included uncapped Central Districts pair Tom Bruce and Ben Wheeler in the Twenty20 International squad that will take on Bangladesh.

Bruce, 25, is a middle order batsman with an average of over 40 and a strike rate of 150 in the 16 T20 matches, he played so far, while Wheeler is a bowling all-rounder and has already played six One-Day Internationals for New Zealand in 2015.

The squad also sees return of Matt Henry, James Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme while Lockie Ferguson, who was seen in the ODI series against Australia has been selected in the T20I squad for the first time.

Corey Anderson hasn't completely recovered from his back injury which will force him to play as a batsman while Grant Elliott, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Tim Southee and Ross Taylor have either been injured or dropped from the squad.

New Zealand and Bangladesh will play three T20I matches between 3rd and 8th January in Napier and Mount Maunganui.

New Zealand squad for T20I series against Bangladesh:

Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Ben Wheeler

© Cricket World 2016