< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Burns and Root lead England fightback against New Zealand in 2nd Test

New Zealand v England - Second Test - Seddon Park, Hamilton, New Zealand - December 1, 2019 England's Joe Root celebrates his century
New Zealand's Kane Williamson in action
England's Rory Burns celebrates his century

Centuries from England’s Rory Burns and Joe Root led a spirited fightback against New Zealand in the 2nd Test at Hamilton today.

Match Summary

New Zealand 375 – (Tom Latham 105, Ross Taylor 53, BJ Watling 55, Daryl Mitchell 73; Stuart Broad 4- 73)

England – 269-5 (Rory Burns 101, Joe Root 114*; Tim Southee 2-63)

At the Close - England trail New Zealand by 106 runs with 5 wickets remaining


Root was unbeaten on 114 (off 278 balls) at the close - his first Test century in 15 innings - as England closed on 269-5, 106 behind New Zealand. He put on 177 with opener Joe Burns, who reached his second Test ton before being run out for 101.

On a rain effected 3rd day of the 2nd Test, England fought back to stay in the match, however, it was the weather that ultimately won the day and with the weather uncertain over the next two days, it would seem unlikely that England will level the series with a win here in Hamilton.



New Zealand bowler Tim Southee commented after the close of play: "It was a docile pitch throughout. Burns and Root played nicely but the run-out opened up a little bit of an end for us.

"We got a couple of rewards late in the day and if we pick up a couple tomorrow, who knows?"


Match Details


New Zealand - Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(wk), Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner

England - Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Joe Denly, Joe Root(c), Ben Stokes, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope(wk), Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad


Start Time: 22:00

Toss: England won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Seddon Park, Hamilton

Officials: Handunnettige Dharmasena, Paul Wilson, Bruce Oxenford, Wayne Knights, Javagal Srinath


 ©Cricket World 2019