< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Can Bangladesh's emotional outburst aid against India? - Nidahas Trophy Final Preview

Bangladesh will be hoping for another Mahmudullah special
Bangladesh will be hoping for another Mahmudullah special

Game: Final - India v Bangladesh
Venue: R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo
Timings: 01:30 PM GMT / 07:00 PM Local

After an emotional win over Sri Lanka, Bangladesh will be hoping to carry forward their momentum into the final of the Nidahas Trophy when they take on India at R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

Bangladesh will be wary of the fact that they have never defeated India in a T20I previously but they will be looking it as an opportunity to create history. They won both their games against Sri Lanka and both in emphatic fashion. Mushfiqur Rahim starred with an unbeaten 72 in the first game to help them chase 215 but the second game with the hosts was a knock-out encounter and was marred with controversies. An emotionally charged Shakib Al Hasan was seen calling the team back after they felt a no ball for height was not given in the final over when Bangladesh needed 12 runs but Mahmudullah stood ground and saw the team through with a delivery to spare. As a result, Shakib along with replacement Nurul Hasan was fined by ICC and to make things worse a photo of the glass broken in the Bangladesh dressing room invited further trouble. They will be aware that they were never able to create the same impact against India in the tournament and will be keen for a turnaround on Sunday.

The new-look India has been boosted by the return of form of Rohit Sharma, who slammed an unbeaten 89 against Sri Lanka and with Shikhar Dhawan consistent, their batting looks in good shape and will be hoping for one final brilliance performance in the tournament. Washington Sundar has been a blessing in disguise for India and the way he is bowling in powerplays that saw him dismiss Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim the other night will be a decisive moment in the game once again. Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur have only shown the bench strength of the Indian side while Vijay Shankar is consistent on his debut series and along with Yuzvendra Chahal they still remain formidable without Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Head to Head Record: India have won all the seven T20Is played between the two teams.

Probable Teams:

India: 1. Rohit Sharma (captain), 2. Shikhar Dhawan, 3. Suresh Raina, 4. Lokesh Rahul, 5. Dinesh Karthik (wk), 6.Manish Pandey, 7. Vijay Shankar, 8. Washington Sundar, 9. Yuzvendra Chahal, 10. Jaydev Unadkat, 11. Shardul Thakur

Bangladesh: 1. Tamim Iqbal, 2. Liton Das, 3. Soumya Sarkar, 4. Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5. Shakib Al Hasan (captain), 6. Mahmudullah, 7. Sabbir Rahman, 8. Mehedi Hasan, 9. Nazmul Hasan, 10. Mustafizur Rahman, 11. Rubel Hossain

© Cricket World 2018