< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cape Town Blitz win Mzansi Super League 2018 opener against Tshwane Spartans

Mohammad Nawaz 59 for Cape Town Blitz today

Tshwane Spartans won the toss and decided to bowl at Newlands, Cape Town today against Cape Town Blitz.

Match Summary

Cape Town Blitz 180 – 4 (Kyle Verreynne 53*, Mohammad Nawaz 59; Andrew Birch 2-39)

Tshwane Spartans 131 (AB de Villiers 59, Dean Elgar 32; Ferisco Adams 3-28)

Result - Cape Town Blitz won by 49 runs

Batting first, Cape Town Blitz scored 180 – 4, mainly thanks to Kyle Verreynne 53* and Mohammad Nawaz 59. Andrew Birch 2-39 was the pick of the Tshwane Spartans bowlers.

In reply, Tshwane Spartans found the run chase tough going even though AB de Villiers 59 and dean Elgar 32 gave them a platform, they were not able to convert it into a win and were all out for 131


Cape Town Blitz - Dawid Malan(c), Janneman Malan, Jason Smith, Mohammad Nawaz, Kyle Verreynne(wk), Sibonelo Makhanya, Ferisco Adams, George Linde, Dane Piedt, Malusi Siboto, Anrich Nortje

Tshwane Spartans - AB de Villiers(c), Gihahn Cloete(wk), Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Robbie Frylinck, Rilee Rossouw, Shaun von Berg, Jeevan Mendis, Rory Kleinveldt, Lutho Sipamla, Andrew Birch


©Cricket World 2018