< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Carlos Brathwaite to lead 13-man T20I squad against India

Carlos Brathwaite to lead 13-man T20I squad against India
Carlos Brathwaite (left) played an important role in West Indies' World T20 final victory against England.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The West Indies Cricket Board has announced a 13-man squad which will face India in the two-match Twenty20 International series in Florida and have named Carlos Brathwaite as the captain.

Brathwaite will take over from Darren Sammy, who recently revealed that he was relieved of his captaincy duties and was also dropped from the squad.

The squad retains the core group of players who took part in the victorious 2016 ICC World T20 tournament where West Indies won their second title.

The chairman of West Indies selectors, Courtney Browne said that Brathwaite can inspire the players in the squad with his committed approach to the game.

“Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,” said Browne.

“We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches.”

Furthermore, Browne clarified the selection panel’s stand on the comments made by Sammy in his Facebook post and said that the squad was selected on the basis of player performance.

Before the T20I series, the retained and franchise players from the six regions will participate in a symposium on 24th August in order to have a glimpse of their roles and responsibilities till 2018.

The two T20Is between India and West Indies will be played at Central Broward Regional Park in Fort Lauderdale, Florida on 27th and 28th August.

West Indies squad for India T20I series:

Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine

© Cricket World 2016