< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Central Gauteng Lions celebrate excellence

©Central Gauteng Lions

The 2018/19 cricket season concluded with glitz and glamour, Great Gatsby style at the CGL Awards Ceremony Dinner held at the BidVest Wanderers Stadium on Friday, 3 May 2019. The night was dedicated to celebrating excellence.

CEO Gregory Fredericks commented: “On behalf of The Lions cricket family I want to thank all those present here tonight: The continued support has gone a long way in strengthening the Central Gauteng region cricket development pipeline. Tonight we celebrated another successful #lionscharge season – both on the field and off it. Congratulations to all winners this season and a special thanks to our partners namely Bidvest, Konica Minolta, Sedgars, Faint, 947, Sun International, Weber, Distell, Diageo and Sunfoil amongst many others.”

In excess of 70 awards across multiple categories were handed out throughout the evening which was alive and well with countless performances by artists such as Ayo Solanke and hosted by Poppy Ntshongwana.

The following is a list of winners:

Batsman of the Year - A section               Nicholas Smit
Batsman of the Year - B Section              Johan Wessels 
Bowler of the Year - A Section                 Zaid Saloojee
Bowler of the Year - B Section                 Tiaan Barnard
Club Cricketer of the Year - A section      Umar Asad
Club Cricketer of the Year - B Section      Eden Links
Club of the Year                                        Delfos Cricket Club 
Fair Play                                                   Jeppe Cricket Club
CGL Umpire's Awards                              Khawulani Ntuli
CGL Scorer's Awards (League)                Liyabona Potelwa
Lovey de Klerk Award                               Albertus Laas
Sue Abbott Trophy                                    Ivan Fenner
Barbi Willis Trophy                                    Linda Mamasela
Professional Recruit of the Year                Sihle Mabongo
Premier League (Limited Overs) - A Section        G&M Old Edwardians Cricket Club 
Premier League (Limited Overs) - B Section        Old Parktonians Cricket Club 
CGL Black Widow T20 League                             Delfos Cricket Club 
Presidents League (Limited Overs) - A Section    G&M Old Edwardians Cricket Club
Presidents League (Limited Overs) - B Section     Wits Cricket Club 
Sunday One (Limited Overs)                                 G&M Old Edwardians Cricket Club 
Sunday Two (Limited Overs)                                 Crescents Cricket Club 
Sunday Three (Limited Overs)                               Delfos Cricket Club 
Sunday Four (Limited Overs)                                 Vereeniging Cricket Club 
Sunday Five (Limited Overs)                                  Azaadville Riders Cricket Club
Sunday Six (35 Overs)                                           Delfos Cricket Club 
Sunday Seven (35 Overs)                                      Delfos Cricket Club 
Saturday One                                                         Glenvista Cricket Club
Saturday Two                                                         Crescents Cricket Club
Saturday Three                                                      Azaadville Cricket Club 
Saturday Four                                                        Puntans Cricket Club 
Saturday Five                                                         Daxina Cricket Club 
Saturday Six                                                           Riverlea Cricket Club 
Women's Club Player of the Year                          Jameelah Shaikjee
Women's Batter of the Year                                   Jenna Searle
Women's Bowler of the Year                                  Traci Brest
Women's Club of the Year                                      Soweto Cricket Club
u/13 Boys Player of the Year                                  Joshua Wyngaard
u/13 Girls Player of the Year                                   Motsepe Tokologo
u/15 Boys Player of the Year                                  Ronan Herman 
u/16 Girls Player of the Year                                  Sibongile Mkhize
u/17 Boys Player of the Year                                 Neil Eksteen 
u/19 Boys Player of the Year                                 Bryce Parsons
u/19 Girls Player of the Year                                  Kgomotso Rapoo
KFC Mini Cricket Co-ordinator of the Year             Marelise Lombard
Coach of the Year                                                  Sandile Masemgemi
Gauteng Women's Player of the Year                    Yolani Fourie 
Gauteng Women's Batter of the Year                     Jenna Searle 
Gauteng Women's Bowler of the Year                   Raisibe Ntozakhw
GCL Senior Provincial Player of the Year               Delano Potgieter
GCL Senior Provincial Bowler of the Year              Sean Jamison
CGL Senior Provincial Batsman of the Year          Josh Richards
CGL Senior Provincial Player's Player of the Year Tumelo Thlokwe
Staff Long-Service Awards                                      Michael Sokhulu (20 years)
Long Service Awards                                               Odette Allen (22 years)
Long Service Awards                                               Ros Brodie (23 years)
Long Service Awards                                               Sue Abbott (25 years)
Long Service Awards                                              Estie Kretschmer (25 years)

National Representatives    

Mike Bechet    
Buhle Bhidla    
Isaac Bidla   
Trisha Chetty    
Michael Da Silva    
Tshepang Dithole    
Yolani Fourie    
Shabnim Ismail    
Jarred Jardine   
Ayabonga Khaka    
Raisibe Ntozakhe    
Doctor Malinga    
Palesa Mapoo    
Sibusico Cyril Mdlalose   
Jacob Miltz   
Kgaudise Molefe   
Emmanuel Motswiri   
Bryce Parsons    
Joshua Richards    
Robyn Searle    
Johan Schroeder    
Cameron Shekleton    
Siya Sibiya    
Nonkululeko Thabethe    
Tumelo Yeki