< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Chadd Sayers replaces injured Jackson Bird for South Africa Test tour

Jackson Bird sustained a hamstring injury
Jackson Bird sustained a hamstring injury

Uncapped fast bowler Chadd Sayers has been confirmed as the replacement for injured pace bowler Jackson Bird in the squad for Australia's upcoming tour of South Africa that consists of four-match Test series.

Bird, who has played nine Tests for the baggy green side claiming 34 wickets in it sustained a hamstring injury while bowling for Tasmania in the Sheffield Shield encounter against Queensland and was forced to leave the field in the second innings.

Upon further assessment of the injury, it was revealed that the 31-year-old will need two to three weeks of recovery period which effectively puts him out of contention for the South African tour that kicks-off with a warm-up game on 22nd February.

Sayers, on the other hand, was called-up to the Australian squad on a number of occasions as a cover but is yet to make an international appearance.

The 30-year-old enjoyed a successful last season of Sheffield Shield where he picked 60 wickets for South Australia and overall he boasts of 246 first-class wickets from 60 games that include 13 five-wicket hauls and two 10-wicket hauls.

Skipper Steven Smith expressed disappointment on Bird missing out on what is expected to be a seam dominated tour of South Africa but is confident of Sayers stepping in after a successful domestic season.

"It's disappointing for Jackson, but it's exciting for Chadd at the same time," said Smith.

"It's a like-for-like (replacement), they're both pretty similar. They both stand the seam up nicely and Chadd's been rewarded for what he's done in Shield cricket over the last couple of years."

The four-match series will be played between 1st March and 3rd April.

Australia squad for Test series in South Africa:

Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc.

© Cricket World 2018