Champions League Clarifies Player Qualification Rules

Champions League Clarifies Player Qualification Rules
Champions League Clarifies Player Qualification Rules

The organisers of the Champions League Twenty20 have moved to clarify the situation regarding players who have played for two teams that have qualified for the tournament, which starts on 8th October.

If a player decides not to represent his 'home' team, then the team he represents must pay $US 200,000 to the home team, defined as the team from the country he is eligible to represent in international cricket.

Those players are as follows:

Nathan Bracken (NSW Blues*, RC Bangalore)
Brendon McCullum (Otago Volts*, NSW Blues)
Dirk Nannes (Victorian Bushrangers*, Delhi Daredevils)
David Warner (NSW Blues*, Delhi Daredevils)
Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers*, RC Bangalore)
Andrew McDonald (Victorian Bushrangers*, Delhi Daredevils)
Herschelle Gibbs (Cape Cobras*, Deccan Chargers)
Farveez Maharoof (Wayamba*, Delhi Daredevils)
Dwayne Smith (Deccan Chargers, Sussex Sharks - no 'home' team)

* denotes home team

It has also been confirmed that players involved in the Indian Cricket League are not eligible to play unless they severed their links with the unofficial league before 31st May.

Sussex's Murray Goodwin will therefore not be available to play as he had not ended his involvement with the league by that date.

"These qualification rules ensure that players will have a choice, subject to existing contracts, of who they represent in the Airtel CLT20. The US$200,000 compensation paid to 'home' teams will create significant interest in the lead-up to the squad announcements," Dean Kino, a member of the league's governing council said.

"Once a team names its initial squad, CLT20 will assess which players have been listed for two or more teams. Players who have been nominated by multiple teams will then be contacted by CLT20 to nominate their chosen team.

"Players will then be given 24 hours to determine which team they wish to represent."

Lalit Modi, Chairman, Champions League Twenty20 Governing Council, added:

"The ability of players to qualify for multiple teams adds another revolutionary element to the Airtel Champions Twenty20 League. A number of players will face a tough decision over the coming days as to which team they will represent in the inaugural tournament in October.
"In addition to the US$ 6 million in prize money, each team is guaranteed a US$500,000 participation fee. This means that even those teams who finish in ninth to 12th place at the Airtel CLT20 will earn US$600,000, while the winners will receive more than US$3million."

© Cricket World 2009