Champions League Twenty20 2014 Fixtures Revealed

2010 champions the Chennai Super Kings take on the Kolkata Knight Riders in this year's opening game
2010 champions the Chennai Super Kings take on the Kolkata Knight Riders in this year's opening game
©REUTERS / Action Images

Reigning Indian Premier League champions the Kolkata Knight Riders will meet the Chennai Super Kings in the opening game of this year's Champions League Twenty20 tournament in India.

Previous Winners

2009: New South Wales (Australia)
2010: Chennai Super Kings (India)
2011: Mumbai Indians (India)
2012: Sydney Sixers (Australia)
2013: Mumbai Indians (India)

The sixth edition of the tournament will be hosted by Bangalore, Hyderabad, Mohali and Raipur.

As previously, two groups of five teams will battle to reach the semi-finals while a qualifying tournament, from 13th to 16th September will precede the main event.

Lahore Lions (Pakistan champions), Mumbai Indians (IPL fourth place), Northern Knights (New Zealand champions) and Southern Express (Sri Lanka champions) will compete to reach the group stage.

Group A comprises the Kolkata Knight Riders (IPL winners), Dolphins (winners, South Africa), the Chennai Super Kings (IPL third place), Perth Scorchers (Big Bash winners) and a qualifier with Group B made up of the Kings XI Punjab (IPL runners-up), Cape Cobras (runners-up, South Africa), Hobart Hurricanes (Big Bash runners-up), the Caribbean Premier League champions and a qualifier.

The final will be held on 4th October in Bangalore with Hyderabad hosting both semi-finals.

"The Group stage matches will be played at Mohali, Bengaluru, Hyderabad and Raipur," Sanjay Patel, Honorary Secretary, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed.

"The Qualifier will be played at Raipur," he added.

"The CLT20 Governing Council has confirmed the teams that will compete for a total prize money of US $ 6 million."

CLT20 Qualifier (2 teams progress to main groups): Lahore Lions, Mumbai Indians, Northern Knights, Southern Express

CLT20 Group A (2 teams progress to semi-finals): Chennai Super Kings, Dolphins, Kolkata Knight Riders, Perth Scorchers, qualifier

CLT20 Group B (2 teams progress to semi-finals): Cape Cobras, Hobart Hurricanes, Kings XI Punjab, Caribbean Premier League champions, qualifier

Full Fixtures

© Cricket World 2014