Chance To Shine Recognises Staffordshire Cricket Partnership

Chance To Shine Recognises Staffordshire Cricket Partnership
Left-to-right Jade Dernbach, England, Bob Askey Staffordshire Cricket, Chris Tremlett England, Richard Adams Stoke City Community Trust, Carl Bennett Staffordshire Cricket, Jason Britton Staffordshire
©Staffordshire Cricket Board

A partnership between the Staffordshire Cricket Board and the Stoke City Community Trust has won the Chance To Shine Innovation award.

The scheme was set up to deliver cricket to local schools and it was recognised by the Cricket Foundation at the annual Chance To Shine awards at The Kia Oval.

The county cricket board's link with the Premier League football club earned them the award, which was presented by England cricketers Heather Knight, Jade Dernbach, Chris Tremlett and Alastair Cook.

The event paid tribute to the fantastic work put in by Chance To Shine and its local partners to take cricket into schools around the country.

Jason Britton, Staffordshire Cricket's Development Director said: "We're thrilled that the partnership has been recognised with the Innovation Award by Chance to Shine and that by our working together we are promoting the game in our schools and using cricket to help provide healthy lifestyles, team ethics and fair play into the educational environment."

Stoke City's Head of Community, Adrian Hurst added: "We have regular communication with the cricket board and operate a transparent relationship which creates great sporting opportunities for our young people."

The award not only recognises the joint-working between Staffordshire Cricket and Stoke City Community Trust in delivering cricket into our schools, but also demonstrates the board's commitment to expanding its broader partnerships in helping to make cricket the sport of choice in the county.

Staffordshire Cricket has already started a similar working relationship with Burton Albion Community Trust for the east of the county with plans to work with other football club's community teams.

© Cricket World 2013