< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Chanceless Warner, Finch tons blow away India by 10 wickets in opening encounter at Mumbai

David Warner - Player of the Match for his unbeaten 128 against India

All the excitement about Marnus Labuschagne's ODI debut amounted to nothing as an opening partnership of 258 between Warner and Finch meant that he did not get to bat.

Match Summary

India 255 (49.1 Overs; Dhawan74 (91), Rahul(wk) 47 (61); Starc 3/56 , Pat Cummins 2/44)

Australia 258-0 (37.4 Overs; Warner 128 (112), Finch(c) 110 (114); Jadeja 0/41, Kuldeep Yadav 0/55)

Result - Australia won by 10 wickets


It was a bit surprising when Aaron Finch won the toss and decided to put India into bat first at Mumbai. However, the decision proved out to be a master stroke as the pitch got better in the second half.

After Rohit Sharma was dismissed by Starc in 5th over, Shikhar Dhawan and Lokesh Rahul had a 100+ partnership to steady things. However, as spinners Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar began to bowl in tandem, the pressure kept mounting on India.

Despite starts for Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja, a flurry of wickets meant that they were bundled out for just 255, a below-par score by a fair margin.

The wickets were shared among Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Kane Richardson.

In reply, David Warner and Aaron Finch had an almost chanceless partnership as Indian bowlers did not look penetrative at all. Kuldeep Yadav's googlies troubled Finch a bit initially but he soon got his eye in as India struggled to find an opening.

Finch and Warner were the most severe on Shardul Thakur who ended with figures of 5-43-0. Both openers brought up their centuries to register a 10-wicket victory, with a ridiculous 12.2 overs still to spare.


India - Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia - David Warner, Aaron Finch, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa

Match Details

Start Time: 08:00

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Officials: Michael Gough, Chettithody Shamsuddin, Richard Kettleborough, Virender Sharma, Ranjan Madugalle

©Cricket World 2020