< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Chase, Holder help West Indies make comeback after Azhar century

Misbah ul Haq (right) was given a guard of honour by West Indies team
Misbah ul Haq (right) was given a guard of honour by West Indies team

Pakistan 376 (Azhar 127) beat
West Indies 14-0 (Powell 9no)
Third Test, Dominica, day two

Roston Chase and Jason Holder shared seven wickets between them to help West Indies stage a comeback as they picked the final seven wickets for 135 runs to dismiss Pakistan for 376 in the first innings of the third Test in Dominica.

West Indies openers Kraigg Brathwaite (5 not out) and Kieran Powell (9 not out) negated the 11 overs before stumps as West Indies reached 14 for naught at stumps on day two.

Earlier, Pakistan resumed their innings at 169 for two. Younis Khan's 75-ball vigil ended when he was trapped LBW by Holder (3-71) in the ninth over of the day while Misbah-ul-Haq (59) was handed a reprieve when he was put down by Shane Dowrich two overs later.

Azhar Ali (127) brought his 19th Test century but on the other end, Misbah's first run came in his 22nd delivery. Pakistan went into lunch at 227 for three after adding just 58 runs in an extended first session.

Chase (4-103) picked his first wicket in the day when he castled Azhar at the start of the second session and soon he had Asad Shafiq (17) holed out to long-on as well.

Just at the stroke of tea, Misbah stepped up the accelerator with a four and a six to complete his fifty but was caught behind off Chase in the final delivery of the session at the end of which Pakistan were 311 for six.

Holder stamped his authority in the final session when he had both Mohammad Amir (7) and Yasir Shah (0) dismissed in successive deliveries in the 130th over but Sarfraz Ahmed (51) looked brilliant to rally around the tail.

Mohammad Abbas (4) managed to held one end up with his 43-ball knock allowing the Pakistan wicket-keeper batsman reach his fifty but Pakistan were eventually bowled out for 376 runs in 146.3 overs.

© Cricket World 2017