< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Chatara, Panyangara return to Zimbabwe World T20 squad

Chatara, Panyangara return to Zimbabwe World T20 squad
Tendai Chatara last played for Zimbabwe in March 2015.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Zimbabwe have included the experienced fast bowling duo of Tendai Chatara and Tinashe Panyangara in the squad for the ICC World Twenty20 tournament to be played in India.

Chatara's last appearance for Zimbabwe came in March 2015 during the World Cup encounter against India following which he was sidelined with a fractured leg.

Meanwhile Panyangara who has been the spearhead of the Zimbabwe attack for a while has recovered from the back injury which forced him out of action during the T20I series against Bangladesh in January.

The pair will replace Taurai Muzarabani and Brian Vitori from the squad that played against Bangladesh in the four-match T20I series.

Muzarabani was unimpressive in the two games he played against Bangladesh having conceded 76 runs while managing a lone wicket while Vitori whose bowling action was reported had two wickets in as many games.

The selectors have also left out all-rounder Chamu Chibhabha from the 15-man squad which will be captained by Hamilton Masakadza after Elton Chigumbura stepped down in January.

Zimbabwe will have to battle it out with Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Scotland in Group B of the first round in the ICC World T20 for a position in the Super 10 stage.

Meanwhile the selectors have also annoucned Donald Tiripano as a stand-by.

Zimbabwe squad for ICC World T20:

Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Sean Williams, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, Tinashe Panyangara, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Sikandar Raza, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Luke Jongwe, Tendai Chisoro, Neville Madziva, Malcolm Waller, Vusi Sibanda, Graeme Cremer; Donald Tiripano (stand-by)

© Cricket World 2016