Chennai End Mumbai's Home Streak

MS Dhoni guided the Chennai Super Kings to victory over the Mumbai Indians
MS Dhoni guided the Chennai Super Kings to victory over the Mumbai Indians
©REUTERS / Action Images

Chennai Super Kings 160-6 (Smith 57) beat
Mumbai Indians 157-6 (Rayudu 59) by 4 wickets
Indian Premier League 2014, Mumbai

MS Dhoni led the Chennai Super Kings to a four-wicket victory over the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League 2014, ending a 10-match unbeaten run at the Wankhede Stadium for the home side.

Dhoni marshalled his team past a victory target of 158 with three balls to spare to notch up Chennai's first ever win at Mumbai's home ground.

Ambati Rayudu top scored for Mumbai with 59 in 42 balls while Lendl Simmons marked his first game since arriving with 38 in as many deliveries.

Some late runs were added by Corey Anderson, who blasted 18 in six deliveries while Ravichandran Ashwin took three for 30 as Chennai bowled well and fielded superbly to keep Mumbai to 157 for six.

And although Brendon McCullum (13) and Suresh Raina (19) fell quite cheaply, Chennai were always going well thanks to Dwayne Smith, Faf du Plessis and Dhoni.

Smith made 57 in 51 balls and du Plessis 31 in 24 but they had fallen by the time that Chennai, with Dhoni at the helm, were left needing 11 from the final over.

Dhoni needed just three balls, finishing the game by hitting Kieron Pollard for a six over mid-wicket and then a four through the off-side.

He finished unbeaten on 22 in 12 balls.

With this win, Chennai put a firm grasp on second spot in the points table with 14 points from nine games (seven wins). Mumbai meanwhile are in the penultimate spot, with four points from eight games (two wins) and have been virtually knocked out of the tournament.

Chasing 158, Chennai got off to a quick start albeit a short one comparing to the standards of Smith and McCullum, with the latter getting dismissed in the fifth over. 

Raina put on 27 runs with Smith for the third wicket as the 50-run mark came up in the eighth over.

But Raina continued with an unimaginative IPL leaving Smith to once again shepherd the chase for Chennai.

The West Indies opener scored yet another half-century, bringing up the mark off 49 balls, with five fours and two sixes, a bit slow unlike his previous innings in the tournament. His departure in the eighth over brought du Plessis to the crease who scored 31 runs off 24 balls, including two fours and one six, and in doing so put on 63 runs for the third wicket.

That wicket turned out to be Smith’s, out for 57 off 51 balls with five fours and three sixes in all. It resulted in some quick wickets as matters got close, with du Plessis, Ravindra Jadeja (6) and Mithun Manhas (1) falling resulting in the game turning out to be a little too close for comfort for Chennai.

But skipper Dhoni, as always, held his nerve and struck a calm 22 not out off 12 balls, with one four and one six, to take Chennai home with three balls to spare.

Praveen Kumar (2-31), Lasith Malinga (2-15) and Pollard (1-42) were the wicket-takers for Mumbai.

Earlier, Chennai won the toss and elected to field first. Mumbai got off to a slow start, thanks to the early dismissal of Chidhambaram Gautam (6).  But his opening partner Simmons put up a fine debut display as he put on 61 runs for the second wicket with Rayudu.

The 50-run mark came up in the ninth over as Mumbai made good progress, as Simmons scored 38 runs off 38 balls, with three fours and two sixes, while Rayudu scored a fifty off 38 balls, hitting two fours and three sixes.

Simmons was out in the 12th over and thereafter skipper Rohit Sharma (19) put on 45 runs for the third wicket with Rayudu as the latter opened up.

He hit 59 runs off 43 balls, with two fours and four sixes in all, as Mumbai searched for another big partnership that would have got them a tall score.

Big-hitting Kieron Pollard was out for a duck, while Anderson got a couple of lusty hits away in the end.

Ashwin (3-30) was Chennai’s best bowler on display, with Mohit Sharma (1-26), Ishwar Pandey (1-34) and Samuel Badree (1-34) picking up a wicket each.

© Cricket World 2014