< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Chennai Super Kings have the measure of Rajasthan Royals in IPL classic

MS Dhoni 58 for Chennai Super Kings today
Mr Cool - Mitchell Santner hit the last ball for six to win the match
No-Ball controversy

Chennai Super Kings won the toss and decided to bowl against Rajasthan Royals at the  Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur today in the IPL

Match Summary

Rajasthan Royals 151-7 (Ben Stokes 28, Jos Buttler 23; Ravindra Jadeja 2-20)

Chennai Super Kings 155-6 (MS Dhoni 58, and Ambati Rayudu 57; Ben Stokes 2-38, Jofra Archer 1-19)

Result – Chennai Super Kings won by 4 wickets


Tournament Stats and Points Table

Put in to bat first, Rajasthan Royals spluttered their way to 151-7 with Ben Stokes 28 and Jos Buttler 23 top scoring. It was a stop start effort from the Royals with no batsman really being able to get going - Ravindra Jadeja 2-20 and Mitchell Santner 1-25 were the most economical of the CSK bowlers whilst Deepak Chahar 2-33 and Shardul Thakur 2-44 both picked up a couple of wickets.

In reply, Chennai Super Kings made hard work of the run chase but Dhoni and Ambati Rayudu 57 got them within the distance, but they still required 30 from the last two overs. MS Dhoni 58 was still there but was out with 3 balls left and still 8 runs to get. Stokes then bowled what looked like a high no-ball which was called no-ball by the bowler’s umpire, but not by the square leg umpire – Dhoni came on the pitch to complain but a no ball was not given – Stokes then bowled a wide and Mitchell Santner hit the last ball for six to win the match for Chennai Super Kings – an absolute classic!!


Rajasthan Royals - Ajinkya Rahane(c), Jos Buttler, Steven Smith, Sanju Samson(wk), Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Riyan Parag, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni

Chennai Super Kings - Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(c)(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir

©Cricket world 2019