Christian Replaces Cutting For Hobart Test

Christian Replaces Cutting For Hobart Test
Christian Replaces Cutting For Hobart Test
©REUTERS / Action Images

All-rounder Daniel Christian has been added to Australia's squad as a replacement for the injured Ben Cutting ahead of the second and final Test against New Zealand in Hobart.

Cutting suffered a side strain and the Queensland bowler, who was not selected for the opening Test win in Brisbane, will be out of action for some weeks.

South Australia's Christian, who has played three Twenty20 Internationals for Australia, comes into a squad which in the absence of Shane Watson is missing a genuine all-rounder.

With Ryan Harris, Patrick Cummins, Mitchell Johnson and Shaun Marsh still unavailable through injury, there are no other changes to the squad which comfortably won the opening Test by nine wickets.

"The National Selection Panel (NSP) has decided to replace the injured Ben Cutting with Daniel Christian in the twelve for the second Vodafone Test, which begins in Hobart this Friday," National Selector John Inverarity said.

"It is disappointing for Ben that he will be sidelined for some weeks with a side strain, but this provides an opportunity for Daniel who has been performing well as an all-rounder for South Australia. The balance of a team is always enhanced by the presence of an energetic all-rounder who is in good form.

"Michael Clarke and his team are buoyant after their convincing victory in Brisbane. James Pattinson’s performance on debut will provide a great boost not only to the team as a whole but to those who are new to the team in particular," he added.

Cricket Australia (CA) physiotherapist also confirmed that Watson, Cummins and Marsh were all aiming to be fit for the first Test against India which begins on Boxing Day.

Christian has been in excellent form for South Australia, scoring 475 runs at 59.37 in five first-class matches this season with two centuries and a half-century.

Australia Test squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (vice-captain), Daniel Christian, Phillip Hughes, Michael Hussey, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, David Warner

© Cricket World 2011