Clarke Leads From The Front In Big Australia Win

	Clarke Leads From The Front In Big Australia Win
Clarke Leads From The Front In Big Australia Win
©REUTERS/Andrew Caballero-Reynolds (SRI LANKA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Australia 270-7 (Clarke 101) beat
Bangladesh 210-5 (Tamim Iqbal 62) by 60 runs
First One-Day International, Mirpur

Michael Clarke scored a century in his first game since taking over as captain as Australia overwhelmed Bangladesh to win the first One-Day International in Mirpur by 60 runs.

In a woefully one-sided contest, Clarke's 101 enabled Australia to post 270 for five before Bangladesh limped to 210 for five in reply having seldom looked like threatening the target.

Australia, by contrast, batted with positive intent throughout their innings, led off by Shane Watson (37 in 32 balls) and then Ricky Ponting (34 in 41 balls).

Clarke then hit a fluent 101 in 110 balls, with ten fours and a six as he quickly asserted his side's dominance, with support coming from Cameron White, who made 20 and Michael Hussey, who  hit 33.

Mitchell Johnson blasted two fours and two sixes on his way to 26 not out in 13 balls as recalled spinner Suhrawadi Shuvo returned three for 44.

Bangladesh then lost Imrul Kayes (4), Shahriar Nafees (0) and Raqibul Hasan (7) early and although Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan scored half-centuries, they never showed any sign of pushing on and scoring at a rate which would put pressure back on Australia.

Iqbal scored 62 in 89 balls and Shakib 51 in 90 before both players holed out in the deep with the match no longer in the balance and Bangladesh's decision to delay the batting Power Play backfired badly.

Mushfiqur Rahim hit a valiant 44 not out in 58 balls, putting on an unbeaten half-century with Mahmudullah (28 not out) but he had left his charge far too late.

The impressive Johnson returned figures of one for 23 in eight overs to cap a fine performance in Australia's first appearance since losing in the quarter-finals of the World Cup.

© Cricket World 2011